Eastern Brown Bat

in StockPhotoslast year

PXL_20230502_172207319.jpg

This cute creature was on the ground, stunned, when a student of mine came across it. We were worried about it, so set it in some brush to recover after admiring it for a little while. Fortunately, after about 20 minutes when I returned to check on it, it flew away.
These bats will get cold this time of year, which makes it tough to use their bodies. My holding it for a bit may have helped it warm up enough to recover and get back to its home.

Sort:  

Amazing. I've never seen a wild bat anywhere, except in flight. And certainly not close enough to be able to identify the species.

Same here!
One of my most interesting finds in Prospect Park.

Also, this was so small you might think it's a baby. But it's not!

These animals have a very relevant role in our lives, well I suppose you already know, they help disperse seeds , this little one will grow up and will surely be grateful to you, hey and I'm not kidding, animals are usually more grateful than some humans

I was thinking about how grateful animals can be yesterday.

Bats like this also help control the mosquito population!

We found this on the ground in the day time in Prospect Park, Brooklyn, which is unusual. I used gloves to hold it so I could demonstrate safety to my students. I wonder if it would have recovered more quickly in my bare hand. It was cutest when it opened its mouth, but I wasn't ready with the camera in time to capture that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55