Delaware Valley Wildlife - Box Turtle, Red Tailed Hawk, and White Tailed Deer

in Delaware Valley Life11 months ago (edited)

Last year I posted photos of a Garter Snake and White Tailed Deer that I happened across while walking the dog. Today, the dog and I came across a box turtle. I didn't have my phone with me, but I was able to go inside and retrieve it and find the turtle again. Here are some photos that I took, playing around with different zoom settings and angles. (all photos taken near West Chester, PA).

First, I tried zooming from further away, but I wasn't sure if that would be blurred by digital zoom or not, so I also wanted to get some close-up shots. The closer I got, the further his head and legs slipped inside of the shell.

1x zoom from close-up

image.png

1x zoom from a bit further away

image.png

1x zoom close-up front view

image.png

1x zoom close-up top view

image.png

1x zoom from about five feet away

image.png

2x zoom from about five feet away

image.png

4x zoom from about five feet away

As feared, the photo was getting blurry due to the digital zoom, so I'm glad I took the close-ups too.

image.png

10x zoom from about five feet away

Blurred by zoom, but you can see how far its neck was stretched out before I got closer to it.

image.png

And as long as I'm posting photos again, here's a White-Tailed Deer that I photographed on June 3.

image.png

Unfortunately, they spook so easily, I can't really get good photos with a cell phone, but that's all I had with me at the time. I see the deer so often that I don't photograph them much any more... it's starting to feel cliché. If you want some better deer photos, you can go back to last year's posts, Delaware Valley Wildlife - Garter snake and more White-tailed Deer or DelVal Wildlife Photography - White Tailed Deer.

And finally, here's a Red Tailed Hawk that the dog and I happened to see back in February. Again, the digital zoom blurs things. I guess I should start carrying the regular camera on my dog walks. ;-)

image.png

image.png

Side-note: The Red-Tailed Hawk link is from the Audubon Society. I grew up within walking distance of the John James Audubon Center in - you guessed it - Audubon, PA.

Update: I should note that @primevaldad posted a much better Red-Tailed Hawk photo, back in April.


image.png

Pixabay license, source

Reminder


Visit the /promoted page and #burnsteem25 to support the inflation-fighters who are helping to enable decentralized regulation of Steem token supply growth.)

Sort:  

I really like the photos you have taken of nature. You can tell that you have a good eye and a lot of patience to capture those moments. Regarding the deer, it is quite difficult to take a picture of them since they are always attentive to everything, but I see that you achieved it. The hawk and the turtle with their attitude are the opposite of the deer, and they are easier to photograph. Thank you for sharing.

I like to see the design of the turtle's shell, it looks very good in several photos, in relation to the deer , that's what you say, it's more difficult to take a good photo, but the one I see seems fine to me.
I wish you a happy day

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

I also can't take good photos from my mobile phone from afar, in this regard, a lot of frames escaped from me. You have beautiful pictures!

We are developing steemitchat web for steemit user could you please vote our witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55