Delaware Valley Wildlife - Garter snake and more White-tailed Deer

in Delaware Valley Life2 years ago

Last month, I posted some photos of deer in the woods behind my yard. I have taken some more wildlife photos in recent weeks, so I thought I'd post a few of these, too.


First-up is a garter snake who seems to be emerging from brumination and catching some rays in the warming weather. I saw him again a few days later in basically the same spot, so I'm honestly not sure if this guy was alive or not when I took the photos. It looked alive to me, but it also seemed motionless.

image.png

image.png


And now, back to the white-tailed deer. Some of these are probably the same animals that I photographed here. Let me know if you can match any of them up (and how you can tell!).

image.png

They do it all the time, but this was actually the first time I've been able to get a photo of a deer lying down without spooking it into running.

image.png

image.png


I don't recall ever noticing the muddy-grey color that we see on this one's nose and head. Not sure if that is its natural coloring or if it got itself into something.

image.png


Here are some of others while the animals were grazing.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


I actually did spook the deer at first, and here it is getting itself up. It quickly got bored and laid down again, which is how I was able to get the photos above.

image.png

image.png

Thank you for your attention


All photos are my originals. Permission is hereby granted to make use of these photos for your own posts on the Steem blockchain, provided that you recognize me as the original photographer and set a 1% beneficiary setting to @remlaps.


Sort:  

Ah! You had good notice seeing that the snake was there. If you didn't tell us, I may not notice it.

The white-tailed deer are very cute and beautiful. They look tamed even though one of them saw you.

Great capture! ;)

 2 years ago 

I would have missed the snake, too, but my dog sniffed it out.

Oh! Your dog very much helped you and you were so lucky! ;)

It seemed that the snake had fallen asleep while it was warming its body in the sun.
Regarding the deer, is it tame, if not, how far were you from the deer when you took the picture.

 2 years ago 

They're not tame, but they are used to being around people. I was behind a fence and about 50 feet (15 meters) away.

Hi @remlaps, wow if you get so many visits from these animals it's because they feel good in that place, it's great it's like they are their pets.
26.jpg

here is the white-tailed deer, I think they are the same ones you saw on another occasion, however, some more joined the group, the important thing is that they are very pleasant animals to observe, and of course your kindness in placing the photos and share with us

 2 years ago 

Yep, there were five yesterday. In the past we've had as many as 20 in our yard. Not after they tore most of the woods down, though.

 2 years ago 

I don't recall ever noticing the muddy-grey color that we see on this one's nose and head. Not sure if that is its natural coloring or if it got itself into something.

New theory. I notice that the other deer also has a splotchy mix of dark and light coloring. Maybe the darker shade is their winter color, to absorb more sunlight, and the lighter shade is their summer color?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57