How Can I Tell You (Cat Stevens Cover) & Self Animated Video

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago (edited)

How Can I Tell You | Cat Stevens Cover

By Ezra Vancil

... In my child vision, Cat was like a prophet of old, torn rags hanging from his guitar, singing in the streets for whoever would listen...

His voice has reverberated through my heart for half a life. Cat Stevens (Now Yusuf Cat Stevens) was not just slopping out good hooks for the billboard; he was dumping raw heart onto vinyl. I was probably 8 years old when I came upon his music. I think his heyday was over by my teen years, but, hey, did that day ever end?

Cat The Prophet

I remember hearing a Cat Stevens song on the radio, most likely Morning Has Broken or Peace Train, and thinking, wow, how does this one Christian dude get on the rock radio? You see, My parents were touring Gospel singers and my musical vocabulary was quite limited compared to other kids. Mostly limited to Christian music, but also to a lot of folk music, like Gordon Lightfoot, Simon & Garfunkle, John Denver etc, but not Cat.

We had no Cat Stevens Records that I knew of. I only would hear him on the radio from time to time. Even to hear 'Rock' Radio was a rare treat. Sometimes Dad would put on a normal local rock/pop station (probably a soft rock station) when he was doing construction jobs. Those days I would revel in The Beatles, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Carly Simon, Janis Joplin, CSN, America, The Eagles, Led Zepplin, and Cat Stevens.

In my child vision, Cat was like a prophet of old, torn rags hanging from his guitar, singing in the streets for whoever would listen. He was definitely in another category than all the other artists. His vocal cords quivered with that same spiritual longing I heard from time to time booming from a church stage. So I of course thought he was a religious artist that somehow got on the regular radio. And turns out, I was right. Well, maybe it was only a seed in his soul at the time. But eventually, he left it all for a vision of the divine. Not many could do something like that.

I check in on him from time to time. I loved watching his comeback concerts. Just like his 'song' is not just a hook; his audiences are not just fans, they are a 'congregation'. And still, he sings from such a beautiful place. I might say an even more beautiful place. A man who has lived a life, and comes back to remember his youth with those who are older too, but knew him when he was just a crazy kid.

Why Pick This Cat Stevens Song and Not One Of The Big Hits?

I started working with a label from L.A. about 2019. We were actually just courting each other and it didn't work out, but, I did take away the idea of covering this song from that relationship.

Along with the difficulty of selling my weirdo-hard-to-remember-Hebraic-Germanic-name "Ezra Vancil"—the label also thought my music would be hard to categorize. Which categorizing an artist for a label is a must. How else will they find the audience that wants to hear that particular artist.

This has been an ongoing problem my whole career. I don't really sound like other artists enough—OR, constantly enough—to tie me into a simple already-existing audience. Plus, the artist I like—my current influences—sound even less like me. And, I hate talking marketing ... but, this guy had a great idea that might solve my problem. The idea is probably common knowledge in the industry, but genius to me. It goes like this: Cover songs from artists that fans say I sound like and then the fans of that artist will like my music too.
That was easy.

You Sound Like Cat, Phil Or Peter

I'm told constantly that I sound like only three other artists, Cat Stevens, Phil Collins, and Peter Gabriel. I never thought they were right. I don't hear that In myself. But what do I know.

He sent me off to find a Cat Stevens Song that would fit the theme on an upcoming album titled 'You'. The album had a theme, it was a history of my love life. I ended up remembering this song, 'How Can I Tell You', from an absolutely delightful album, 'Teaser and the Firecat'.

At that time, I had not listened to Cat Stevens in years. As I listened to the album I had a big Oh Ya moment; Cat Stevens is in my bones, probably one of my first 'favorite artists'. Though I heard him from time to time on the radio and in films, as we all do; I had forgotten that his music was something very special in my young life.

Now, all his music is on my regular playlists, but not only mine; but also my 12-year-old daughter's playlists. He's one of her favorite artists now also.

Screenshot at Jan 04 17-36-40.png

Though the label relationship didn't work out, I'm grateful he steered me in this direction. The song's launch was not so great. Not many heard it. I kind of snuck it on the album after all the hoopla was over and made it a Deluxe reissue of the album. You can check the album YOU out and add it to your playlist on your favorite music apps here > and while your at it check out other songs on the album, like Galveston, Broken King, Made To Be Mine, , Complicated Man, and see if you can too hear that Cat Stevens influence. Or better yet, hear my NEW album, The Family Songbook which is even more so into my folk-rock roots.


Watch my 'How Can I Tell You' video & thumbs up it on youtube or hear it on your favorite music app, or go hear my favorite live version from Yusuf Cat Stevens


Someday I'll go into the animation process and the production of the song on a Steemit post. But for now, hope you enjoyed the song and the story.

How Can I Tell You Lyrics

That I love you
I love you
But I can't think of right words to say

I long to tell you
That I'm always thinking of you
I'm always thinking of you
But my words just blow away

Just blow away
It always ends up to one thing, honey
And I can't think of right words to say

Wherever I am girl
I'm always walking with you
I'm always walking with you
But I look and you're not there

Whoever I'm with
I'm always, always talking to you
I'm always talking to you
And I'm sad that you can't hear

Sad that you can't hear
It always ends up to one thing, honey
When I look and you're not there

I need to know you
Need to feel my arms around you
Feel my arms around you
Like a sea around a shore

Each night and day I pray
In hope that I might find you
In hope that I might find you
Because hearts can do no more
Can do no more

It always ends up to one thing, honey
Still I kneel upon the floor
How can I tell you
That I love you
I love you
But I can't think of right words to say

I long to tell you
That I'm always thinking of you
I'm always thinking of you
It always ends up to one thing, honey
And I can't think of right words to say


images (1| 2| 3| 4)


Thanks for reading. I'm Ezra Vancil a Texas Songwriter and Performer and sometimes writer and artist. You can check out more at www.ezravancil.com OR go to my more music-focused Steemit Blog @ezravancil for more videos and music stuffs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62