Let Them Sleep Original Poem

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Let Them Sleep

by Ezra Vancil

So then Death what will you offer?
Life what profit give to me?
Profit? soul! you selfish scoffer
Riches share you here to be?

Skull1.2.png

Glass of eye, seek your answer
by the breath I give and share
grip your wisdom pose and dance her
questions me with sound of air?

Death engage this vital storm
will in silence thus behave?
sting the tongue, you jagged thorn
Lift your chalice from the grave!

skull2.2.png

Laughter, oh , I love it so
comedy by tears is much
truth in secret, precious gold
what men venture forth to touch

Ask me fool, require my time
beat your chest and pull your hair
bring it forth, all that is mine
give it me, that which I spare

Death, my void of conscious will
what sword of blood will you deploy
be you brave or be you still?
fainting weak, and then destroy?

Yield! you son of memory
release your shoulder from the weight
ask the blade why do you bleed?
inquire of providence your fate?

skull3.2.png

Yield, I yield, my quite soul
leave me to this thin despair
there I find you death so old
Life the youth that didn't care

Predictable! you do agree?
Life: surprise, I long to touch
Death: to think he questioned me!
man: I thought I knew so much

Yield my soul! Spirt flee!
Escape by holes of hollow sight!
Where my master? I believe
The flesh is shallow for it's height

I do not care why question now
escape the night, we haven't time
but night is full, completely round
without a star or spark or shine

skull-4.png

Life: I know they need so much
frail the skin that holds the soul
Death: I long the warm to touch
let them sleep and never know


Thanks for reading. I'm Ezra Vancil a Texas Songwriter and Performer and sometimes writer and artist. You can check out more at www.ezravancil.com

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Writing and Reviews! We appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

We’d love to hear more from you!!

WRITING & REVIEWS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69415.31
ETH 3677.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23