"Escape from Bellevue" by Christopher John Campion - Book Review

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Meet Christopher John Campion. Rhymes with we are the champions. And he is, truly. This book describes Chris and his trip through life, his band, his friends, his battle and journey with alcohol and drugs and much humor. Yes, there is sadness, too. But, Chris can write and he does an excellent job of putting all of his thoughts, feelings, memories, happiness and tragedies into this amazing book. From drinking, drugging, love, parental issues, family alcoholism, rodeo clowns, what a story, lots of music and many other things, this book swept me away and was an interesting page turner. I feel wiser from reading this book and that is always a beautiful thing.

image.png
credit

Yes, Chris even got to visit Bellevue, one of New York's most famous mental facilities. Three times. Well, maybe two and half, since he escaped one time. Did you know he was the first patient to actually escape from Bellevue since 1963? Wow. So he says. He was not quite ready and I can understand. Chris is a talented wonder. He sings well, writes amazing song lyrics and totally captured my heart and my support. I had never heard of the Knockout Drops before reading this book. They have opened for great bands like Soul Asylum and Violent Femmes. They have their own unique sound and that is a good thing, in my opinion. Unfortunately, Maverick records did not agree and that is another well told story in this cool book. While not the most radio friendly, this band is talented. Chris is a star and many will agree with me. If you have glimpsed and heard his talent. Check out the song titled wrong side of love and I bet you will be smitten. I was. The video is so good.

This book delivers humor, true stories of a New Yorker who happens to be a singer, a good one, and travels down many good and bad roads. Into dive bars, concerts and venues. On tour, place to place and for a time, sometimes ending with disappointment. Well, Chris had his most magical moments too and he shares them with us in such a brutally honest style, it is endearing. From the heart and soul. Who could ask more? Chris's story has a good ending and I do not think that is a spoiler, just a nice thing. For those that have drug addictions, alcoholism and musicians in their family or group of friends and are worried what the future might bring for them, you need to read this book. It is the real deal.

Wether you may question your religion, your family or yourself, this book brings a unique perspective to the table from the raw reality. I feel it has something special for all that read it. Hope, faith, pain, love, struggle and why we all wake up everyday. Because tomorrow is there just for us, if we are lucky enough to be there. I am very glad that Chris is there and he can only get better. This creative man brought me to tears with the last few pages of this book. I did tear up at other parts. I also laughed and discovered bands that I had never heard of before. Like the Bogmen. Chris's little brother fronts this band. Anyway, what a book. Wow! It delivered a spectacular roller coaster ride of a true story. It is worthy. This story is also now a hit rock musical. I wish Chris and his band much success and I thank him here for writing an inspiring and entertaining story. Well done. I enjoyed the journey. It was unforgettable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67