Delving into my relationship between me and my parents.

in Writing & Reviews2 years ago

Relationship is an important issue amongst people in the society today be it with your mom, dad, pastor, friend, anyone etc and there are things that defines a relationship which makes it work for the betterment of the two parties involved.

family-6398107__480.webp

Source

Parent and children relationship is something that if case is not taken and if not handled properly might result to something disastrous and parents sometimes or should I say always are blamed for playing their different roles well when their relationship with their children venture into something drastic. I guess this will be a topic for another day cos I have to answer the following questions below..

I'll like to talk about these topics below

  • What role do/did your parents play in your life?
  • Has your relationship with your parents changed over the years?
  • Is there anything you wish your parents would do( or would have done ) differently?
  • How are you similar to your parents?
  • How are you different from your parents?
  • Do you prefer a more involved relationship with your parents or more distance?

Wow wow wow, so up there are and I'll try as much as I can to answer them all with all amount of sincerity. So my answers goes thus; Let's go✍️✍️✍️

WHAT ROLE DO/DID YOUR PARENTS PLAY IN YOUR LIFE?

Okay so, my parents have played quite some roles in my life and first one which is giving birth to me. Without them, I wouldn't have been born into this world to look cute as I am, do the things I do, enjoy life and be where I am today. Without them, no one would have known me, my existence wouldn't be there and I thank God for that.

family-6081095__480.jpg

Source

Dad is a Reverend and Mom being his wife is a prayer warrior and growing up they've shown me and told me everything there is about God. It's like I am being initiated into God's kingdom, they have showed me the way of the lord and everything good to do and live with concerning God.

I don't think that if I say they are like God to me I'll be wrong cos if God is to be removed, they're the next set of people I'll yearn to be like everyday. They have disciplined me, moulded me, supported me and done everything possible for me to stand out. They have been my backbone, my coverage, bank account infact everything, I see the love they have for me and if they were to have more money than they do now, I don't think I would have anything to worry about.

The teachings and preaching I've received from those two isn't something I take likely. There is absolutely no one who will preach any form of God's word to me that they haven't before. Like I literally know all there is to know and they haven't stopped or relented effort...ah! I believe if they had the opportunity to read this, they will be crying. What more can I ask for??? Absolutely nothing, that's whi I thank God each day for giving me such parents like them.

HAS YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH YOUR PARENTS CHANGED OVER THE YEARS?

Ah my relationship hasn't changed one bit with my parents o. We're still the same way we use to be. Even if it were to change, it would be for the best, the very best trust me.

I've lived with them all my life from one station the church gave dad to serve to another. We've been going to all those places in different local government areas together as a family till date. Though sometimes ago, say like 4 years ago I wasn't with them, after getting admission into the state college I left them.

I stayed over there in school for those number of years alone without any of them or my siblings. As the first child you know much is expected of me and I need to live well and show good example to my junior ones. Mom and dad has never stopped calling, supporting, providing and encouraging me during my stay there.

family-3814603__480.png

Source

I finished my program and went back home. Everything is still the way it use to be, it hasn't changed one bit. They go out if their way to make sure we lack nothing and most times they deprive themselves all the pleasures and good things of life just to put smile on our faces. I'm grateful to God for giving me such parents and our bond is still intact 💯.

IS THERE ANYTHING YOU WISH YOUR PARENTS WOULD DO (OR WOULD HAVE DONE) DIFFERENTLY?

I've been thinking about how to answer this particular question. Well, I don't think there's anything I wish they would have done. Lol that doesn't mean they are perfect human beings o but they're just good 🤷...it's as simple as that.

HOW ARE YOU SIMILAR TO YOUR PARENTS?

Ah!!! You see this particular question? It is just so evident in my body and people who know my parents know this as well.

Dad is a tall man with long long things in his body 😀😀😀😀. He has long legs, hands and every other thing long long.... hahahaha 😀😀😀. Asides from that, dad doesn't smile and that's another thing you'll see me do though I'm trying to curb that out. As a beautiful lady I need to smile as much as I can not to scare guys aware, I mean cute and handsome guys that have money 😏.

wintry-2920252__480.webp

Source

Also, dad doesn't have any friend. Yes I'll repeat that again, my Dad doesn't have friends, he doesn't keep friends so there's practically no one like a friend not to mention a best friend in his life, not at all. That doesn't mean he does not associate with his fellow members or pastor friends in the ministry.

That is applicable to me as well. This babygirl doesn't have a friend, like a real friend which I talk to and share everything with, there's absolutely no one. That doesn't mean I don't mingle, I do mingle and have girlfriends and even boyfriends in school, street, church and other places one could think of.

Well, apart from copying that from my dad, I kinda like it cos I've not been into any form of problem or the other with any fellow. We all know how girls are nau, especially people that call themselves best of friends, when something happens them go open your yansh so I stay in my lane just to avoid wahala.

istockphoto-1028429904-170667a.jpg

Source

Now to my Mom, she's a fat woman, no no no....she's not fat, she's chubby and that's where I get all the flesh from these days cos I'm being told I look fat. Mom can cook well and I do also, got that aspect from her cos she taught me well.

My parents are singers, my Dad's father was also a singer and he played instruments too especially guitar. I sing as well especially the alto part like my Mom, I also play drums too.

Infact in our family everyone sings, dad sings bass, mom sings alto, I and my two junior sisters sing alto, my immediate Junior brother plays drums and keyboard while my last born plays keyboard as well. So you seee??? We're blessed 🙌🙌🙌

HOW ARE YOU DIFFERENT FROM YOUR PARENTS?

istockphoto-1127456505-170667a.jpg

Source

Different from my parents? Nah nah nah ❌❌❌. I'm not different from my parents I don't think. Well, apart from the fact that I can't pray like Mom, I pray to God but not like that of a warrior which my mom is 😀😀😀. I try as much as I can to follow their footsteps so I don't think I'm different from them.

However, I'm not disputing the fact that children can't be different from their parents o. It's just not with me, it can't be and it's not so in my case.

DO YOU PREFER A MORE INVOLVED RELATIONSHIP WITH YOUR PARENTS OR MORE DISTANCE?

Well, from everything I've written down in the previous questions, I haven't talked about the aspect where we sit down and chat about life, love, society and other things like that.

I'll say I prefer a more involved relationship with them especially that of my love life but notwithstanding, I like them like that and they're best for me.

istockphoto-544355788-170667a.jpg

Source

Might be because they're pastors and all of that, but to me discussing issues like that with your children isn't bad so since we don't have that, it doesn't change anything I still love them even more.

Thank you all for stopping by to read, I really appreciate it.

I still remain @mhizerbee.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Writing and Reviews! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
We appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

We’d love to hear more from you!!

Writing & Reviews (6).png

Wow
Thank you very much
I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64