Note on minute writing

in Writing & Reviews2 years ago

I know most of us here are secretaries or assistant secretaries in different organizations, it might be in church, school or anywhere and we know these things and how it's done.

Some who are members or head of other departments may not really understand how a minute is being taken and everything that entails, this post here might help with that.... just stay put and enjoy.

Also, please feel free to correct, amend or contribute to it as it could make me learn and others as well. Thank you

MINUTE WRITING:

Minute writing refers to records or information taken during a formal meeting. Minute serves as an important back up to an organization and source of reference to those who may not have attended the meeting. It is the records of proceeding during a meeting.

TYPES OF MINUTES:
Errrm 🤔🤔🤔 I'd say basically we have three (3) types of minutes which are as follows and I'll briefly explain them.

laptop-3196481__480.webp

Source

  • Verbatim minute: Verbatim minute involves writing everything that was said during a meeting...like putting down every bit of thing that was said during a meeting without removing anything.

  • Resolution minute: Resolution minute refers taking the conclusion of the meeting, it means the agreement that was made at the end of a meeting.

  • Discussion minute: Discussion minute is similar to verbatim minute but in discussion minute, all aspects of the discussion during the meeting are captured. Who said that? What happened? The reactions, comments and so on...it's usually very lengthy.

QUALITIES OF A GOOD MINUTE

  • Attendance: Every good minute should have attendance of persons who attended except for a large number of persons which could not be recorded in the attendance.
  • Agenda: Every minute should have items to be discussed.
  • Purpose: Every minute must have her objectives stated.
  • Actions to be taken: Every minute must have actions to be taken i.e the resolution to be taken at the end of the meeting.
  • Calendar: Every minute must have a set date for each meeting they must keep.

I'll like to stop here for today. I'll continue next time and I'll be talking about Languages of a minute, a pseudo or hypothetical format of writing a minute and terminologies used in a meeting.

I hope I didn't bore you with my big grammar and it was worth your time. Thank you very much for reading and engaging my post, I appreciate.

See y'all in my next post
Much love❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75