A Quiet Place Part II - Movie Review

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

review-film-a-quiet-place-part-2-pyz.jpg
Source:

A Quiet Place Part II is directed by John Krasinski once again, just like the first one except this time, he has sole writing credit last time he shared that credit with beckoned woods. This time, it's all Kaczynski.

Now before I say the plot, I will say that if you have not yet seen the first quiet place, you'll probably get some spoilers for that movie because this movie picks up exactly where that film leaves off. So if you have not yet seen that film, that's your warning.

Following the events at home, the Abbott family led by Emily Blunt now face the terrors of the outside world forced to venture into the unknown. They realize the creatures that hunt by sound are not the only threats lurking beyond the sad path, the first quiet place was so good, it has become the go to reference whenever anyone talks about high concept horror.

Anytime I've ever tried to pitch something that I've written to a producer or to a executive or to a studio, quiet place inevitably will get brought up at some point during the conversation. And so to make a sequel to that, I can imagine was a daunting task. And I thought this film was excellent.

The first film was very tense and very suspenseful, all throughout the concept of monsters that hunt by sound. And you have to be very quiet was a genius idea for a horror film. And that's executed once again extremely well here. And it's similar to the first and that it is very simple. The characters have to go to a place and get a thing. Some people are trying to go to another place and get a thing. And that's really all you need for a film like this. It's so execution based and it's entirely about tension. And Kaczynski pulls off what I think is one of the better horror sequels I've ever seen.

I think it's really, really good. I loved everything about the film. This is exactly the kind of movie that I wanted it to be. And it surprised me. It gave me ideas I didn't expect the performances were once again magnificent, Emily Blunt can do no wrong, but Millicent Simmons and Noah Jupe are both fantastic, especially Simmons in a very featured role. And I only watched the teaser for the movie. So I didn't realize that Killian Murphy was going to have a substantial role.

I knew he was in the movie. But he gets a lot in this movie. Like he's a front and center character. And I love him. And he's phenomenal everyone is and one of the biggest reasons the actors are so great in both of these movies is because they rely so much on silent communication, and visual storytelling. And so that's like meat and potatoes for an actor, to not have to communicate everything through dialogue and just simply have looks sign language and body language. And that kind of thing can be very exciting for a great actor, and they're all so so good in the film.

600e13587c7a9-a-quiet-place-part-ii_665_374.jpg
Source:

But honestly, the star of this film is Kaczynski This is a masterfully directed movie, he should be incredibly incredibly happy with this film. This was shot in 35 millimeter film and you can fucking tell every frame of this movie looks like the kind of films that excited me when I was a kid. If I had seen this when I was 13 it would have been one of those movies that made me want to go out in my backyard with a camera and make films tight compact scenes that start right when they should an end right when they should the suspense is always at a high end character is always favored with the monster action happening around them. He doesn't treat the monsters like their spectacle.

He always frames the spectacle within the same image as his characters very rarely does he just cut to like epic shots of destruction or anything like that if there is things like that in the film, and there are the characters are always in the foreground. The characters are the focus when it comes to horror movies that pick up right where the last one left off.

I always think of Halloween to the original, more of the night he came home and if they can pull that off, then you have this great double feature you can always have in the future and quiet place one and two back to back are going to be like the greatest three hours suspense movie. I'm so satisfied with Kaczynski his work here the opening sequence is easily one of my favorite openings in a horror film ever.

I talked about this in my original review of quiet place and I don't really consider this a spoiler because it is in every single trailer showing day one of this event would be a completely different film, it would be mass hysteria, whereas cutting to much later you allow the characters to understand the world and they know how to survive and they kind of get the rules now this film's opening sequence is day one, and it's fucking riveting.

Kaczynski please continue to make films and just I mean, do whatever you want, but you got to make more movies like this man. This was everything I wanted it to be. I was so satisfied with the character work the suspense is always really white knuckled the monsters are amazing.

Again, he he shows them you know what they look like but the characters are always in the forefront if I really truly had to pick my brain and be annoyed with myself for things.

This deeply about a film's potential flaws. The only thing I can really think of is that the ending of the film which I quite like, is not necessarily as emotionally resonant as the ending of the first.

a_quiet_place_part_ii_trailer.0.jpg
Source:

That's all I can come up with. This film gave me everything I wanted. If you love the first you're going to love this one too. I'm gonna give a quiet place to an a god watching this movie, I really felt like okay, this is a theater experience. This is something that I'm so glad I got to see in a theater. It was very smart for them to hold off and not release this during COVID. Seeing it in the theater tonight was worth the wait.

If you get a chance to see in the theater, I would highly highly suggest that guys, thank you so much. As always for reading. I look forward to more reviews very soon. And if you like this, you can click right here and get stuck minimized.

••••••••••××××ו••••••••••××××ו•••••••••××××ו•••••••••
Guys, I think that's enough for the discussion this time. Hopefully it can increase the knowledge of you fans and readers. Thank you for reading this story to the end. And the most important thing is to share this story with your friends. See you again in the next post, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69