Healthy Treats | Sunday Cacao Wolfberry Goodies

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0025 (2).jpg


Happy Sunday my Foodie Friends! We’re making tasty treats in the Bird kitchen today.


Believe it or not we haven’t had any chocolate in the nest for several weeks! I know, hard to believe but true. I just purchased a new package of dried Wolfberries. You probably know them as Goji berries! These slightly sweet and tart berries are wonderful in breads, muffins, cookies, granola’s, trail mixes…in fact the options are endless!


goji berry.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay

The pantry was bare…


we were out of Bird’s granola as well so that was the first order of business. Gathering all of my favorite nuts and seeds along with gluten free oats, organic raisins, cinnamon, vanilla, maple syrup and coconut oil I whipped up a quick batch and popped sweet smelling mix into the oven. Oh, be sure to top with gojis after the bake as they’re quite fragile, they’ll burn easily.
DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Meanwhile I had 22 minutes…


to prep the chocolate goji goodness. Mr. Bird will just love these!


Cacao Goji Chocolate Gems!

  • Nut Butter (1/2 cup)
  • Coconut Oil (2 tbsp.)
  • Maple Syrup (4 tbsp.)
  • Vanilla (1/2 tsp)
  • Cacao Powder (2 tbsp.)
  • Gluten free Oats (1 cup)
  • Unsweetened Shredded Coconut (1/2 cup)
  • Goji Berries (1/3 cup)

Bringing the Cacao…


Coconut Oil and Maple syrup to boil for a minute allowed the cacao to dissolve completely into a wonderfully chocolaty mixture. Add the balance of the ingredients and stir well. Don’t be surprised when you consider taking a big bite! Do you? Or not? Hmmmm.
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

Not to forget, the gojis!


Aren’t they beautiful? I gifted a couple of these plants to @mountainjewel a few years ago. They’re just beginning to produce fruit! Quite tasty fresh from the vine!
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

Did you know…


Goji’s have been used in traditional Chinese medicine for decades. Bark, roots, berries and leaves are all used as health supplements. Gojis are known to lower cholesterol and help control diabetes. Packed with antioxidants Gojis improve our heart and mental health by reducing stress and anxiety levels.


Dropped by the spoonful…


onto a parchment lined baking sheet, topped with Cacao Nibs, voila!
DSC_0015 (2k).jpg

Goji Granola…


perfect with your morning (or evening) bowl of yogurt!
DSC_0037 (2).jpg

Cacao Goji Gems! Well it’s game time, a perfect snack!


DSC_0036 (2).jpg


These little Wolfberry gems will be heading for the freezer! Soon the Bird’s nest will be filled with a chirpping chocolate loving Bird family…we’ll need lots of treats like these! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

Looks amazing!! I DON'T BELIEVE you had even a week without chocolate LOL....

Seriously, I love goji berries and they are both cheap and plentiful here in Asia. I will send this post through to my daughter for baking inspiration.

Shared to my twitterfeed #POSH https://twitter.com/BreugelMarike/status/1219237661560295424?s=20

AND shared to the @c-squared curation community for you.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

hahahahahah, I swear I really don't eat very much chocolate!!!! I make all of these treats to give away or freeze for the kids when they visit. Now the granola is a different story...with my smoothie bowls and yogurt yum! Your daughter might love these cacao no bake treats (you may as well, lol) Thanks for your sweet support @artemislives!

Absolutely divine my Dear Mrs. Bird. I just made granola too and I would love to share some of my for yours 😍

Yes! Great minds think alike right? Nothing like morning granola in a smoothie bowl!!! It would be so amazing to share with you, Oh the goodies we would create :) Thank you my dear friend xx

I know we said that before, lol. Maybe someday my Dear! You are most welcome 😍

Delicious snack indeed - looks really yummy

 4 years ago 

These look like a delicious snack that I would be interested in making! All that goodness packed into a few big bits!

Now we are talking!

I had no idea that wolfberries and goji berries are the same thing. I know it is hard to believe, but, I do learn something new every day on Steemit! A totally perfect snack!

Thank you for always giving me something to look forward to! Keep them coming~!!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

I know @dswigle, I love reading all about these cute berries. Such a name Wolfberry...somehow it just doesn't seem right, lol You're the best, you always know how to bring a smile to my face! Thank you my friend! xx

Yummy but healthy treats Mrs Bird, so nice seeing you back in the kitchen again;)

Aww, you're the best @lizelle :) Thank you! I've had a bit of the writers block for a while...just trying to get back at it again!

Hi 💚 so happy to have this come across my feed (I'm back! ;)) this is beautiful as always, I love seeing your treats! I was going to upvote but noticed I already had been doing so luckily ;) lots of love! Cece

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @heart-to-heart! So great to hear from you! Thank you! How have you been? Still traveling? I'll be looking for your posts :Blessings!

I'm great thank you! Happy 2020 :) I have been traveling a lot and have also been super busy with another project so didn't have the chance to be on here as much as I once was. I've just got settled back in Bali and therefore have some extra time and am excited to be back for now and love seeing you here! <3

Perfect muesli bites... so good. I wish my actual goji plant would grow more than 4 berries lol!

Oh dear!!! Well, just keep babying the little guy and he may produce more! I know one of the plants I bought for them had to be babied and now it's very happy and productive! :) So nice to hear from you @riverflows! Blessings!

That granola looks so goo
I am not sure I have tried goji or Wolf berries but those treats look so good

We do love our granola @tattoodjay :) So glad to hear from you! The goji's are kind of like a raisin in these treats with a little bit of a tart taste. They're soooooo good :) Thanks my friend

so many things i am learning about from your posts that I want to try :)

They do look tasty!
Cheers,
Peter

Thanks so mmuch @fullcoverbetting! Glad you enjoyed them! :) Blessings!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared! I truly appreciate the curation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66503.40
ETH 3078.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70