You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Justin Sun – My open letter to you!

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

Oh man! I spent all that time writing a post (following the instructions given) and even had to learn HOW to post to a community just to discover that I can't post it to the community because I don't belong to the discord channel! WHY is it so important to join discord? I hate having to move off THIS platform. I'm really choked right now. I don't wish to be muted, so I guess I don't post my letter to Justin Sun until your own rules change. Seriously... you should have mentioned the stipulation as part of the posted rules so people like me don't waste their time.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @happyme,

Please go ahead and publish your post to the PHC community (if you still wish to). This is a community initiative (same as the "My Steem Story" one) and in such cases everyone is free to post to the community feed.

... I will amend that in my instruction too.

Apologies for the confusion.

Thank-you. However, I still don't understand why it is so important to belong to discord. Shouldn't we be attempting to get more conversations going right here on Steem?

 4 years ago 

This is not the case with all communities... just ours, as we are technically a "closed" community. Applicants are assessed before being allowed in. The reason for this is that we pride ourselves on quality content and true Steem dedication. We are a very proactive community and those that do join us on discord, make a commitment to get stuck in... so whilst we "gather" there - ALL the action does in fact take place here... much like this initiative and many others that we have been behind.

Discord is simply a space which allows us to convene in a "live" manner, as there is nothing like that here.

Hope that clears it up a little.

Thanks for the explanation.

I can understand having a "closed" community of dedicated people, however, since I'm not completely familiar with Discord, I'm not able to comprehend the difference between chatting here or on Discord. In both cases, whatever is typed is instantly transmitted for the others to read and respond. Does Discord have voice chat? I'm confused about what "live" means. The few times I have used Discord, I found no difference between chatting here or there. We still have our various time differences and often must wait for the other person to get back on-line to respond.

I didn't download Discord and have been using the links provided by others to access and engage through the Discord service. Perhaps by not downloading software and simply using the on-line version, I'm restricted in what I can do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60