What Do You Feed Your Mind With?

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

In the world where each day an enormous amount of data goes through you, what is it that you focus on? Have you set your mind working in the direction you desire or is it drifting and soaking up all the hellfire?

The only moment that matters is now, everything else is just a product of thought. When you're in the moment, you are in control, you are aware and you know where you're going.

As soon as you drift away, you've lost control. You've started scrolling your life away while sitting in front of the TV or Youtube playlist that's going on for hours feeding your body and mind with what's on the algorithm. More often than not it's shit you don't need.

What do you feed yourself with?

Besides the food that you eat with your mouth. What do you feed your mind with? What do you soak up from your surroundings? Are you under control of what's ''playing'' in the background? If not - then take control!

Each word matters

Imagine yourself working on a blog post. What is happening in the background? Do you work in silence? Do you listen to music? I can say for sure that whatever is happening in the background affects the post you're creating. It can change the mood of the post and it can even change the entire post you're making. Those vibrations can take you away.

(I wrote this post in silence) hearing only how I'm pressing each keyboard button to make characters appear on the screen. I can also hear my PC working. It's silent but you can still hear it.

For me - it's easier to work in either silence or with music where nobody sings. Whenever someone starts singing, it messes me up and I'm becoming much slower and easily distracted. I didn't even notice it at the beginning but then I stopped to think what's wrong with my flow. Then I understood that those singers are only a distraction.

Everyone trips differently

What you're tripping about? I mean, if you've ever done drugs, you know they work differently on everyone, especially the psychedelic ones. They usually show you your true self and your own insights and things you need to deal with. That's why it differs from person to person.

But it's not only with drugs. One may love working with Katy Perry in the background but for me, it's the easiest way to get irritating headaches.

The World

Crazy things are happening all over the world and they cannot become your distraction. You have a lot of things on your mind to work on. Don't let the TV fear you. The media is owned by the top 1% of the top 1% and we will never know their true intentions.

What we can do is shut the TV off and engage with each other. Look at what's around you and how it impacts you. Change your surroundings to change your life. Use the internet - it's a tool for your growth. You can find any information you need to achieve your goals so start searching for it.

Write

20 minutes ago I started writing this post and I knew only the title but I also knew it could change when I finish the post. I just started writing and wrote whatever came out of my mind. Or should I say - whatever was on my mind? I don't know. All I know is that those thoughts were there around me and the only way to let go is to write them down.

That's just what I did. 23 minutes later I'm here, at the end of the post. I hope it's readable and you understood what I meant. If not - I guess you took everything you need from this and you're inspired to do your thing.

Thank you for reading and have a lovely day ahead! Remember to choose the content that gets in your head!

Image by Pete Linforth from Pixabay



Posted from my blog with love and SteemPress Pluginhttps://spellmaker.blog/what-do-you-feed-your-mind-with/
)

Sort:  

Hi @spellmaker, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Great food for thought. 😊

Thank you! Hope your mind gets only the best!

What you focus on will grow more important (to you)!! Thanks for sharing ((:

You said it very well! Thank you for reading!

It is so easy to procrastinate, it happens to me frequently and I have to concentrate a lot, I also prefer to work in a quiet space :)

You're right. When it's quiet - we can hear ourselves and reason with ourselves to get the motivation and energy.

In the U.S., six corporations own all the televised news, and none of them are news-based businesses. The press in America isn't free anymore. All of them report only on certain news items and ignore many other important ones.

Staying away from them as you suggest, at least gives us a chance to avoid a thorough brainwashing.

Yeah, it's mad. And not only in America. Many news sites all across the world are financed by the same corporations.

Spending time Steemit definitely helps in avoiding some of the bullshit we're being told.

Thank you for the comment and have a nice day!

 4 years ago 

Scrolling away life whether behind a computer or a TV one really needs to be careful what you visit, filling the mind with negative or positive affects our lives for sure.

True. Many people don't see it because they're used to it. Silence for them is like torture, hehe.

Thanks for reading and have a lovely day!

Good post @spellmaker.
I think there is some 'synchronicity' going on here. You should see my post this morning. It has much the same overtones, but not the specifics.
More of a "motivational/observational prose" entry.
Congratulations on being chosen for the rally vote

Hello @spellmaker,

They are very good reflections in 23 minutes of spontaneous writing. If I understand correctly, we must take control of our life, and in that sense, take care that we feed, not only our body, but also our mind.

Focus on the now and free ourselves from what distracts us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Thank you for the feedback! Yes, it's exactly what I meant. My words converted perfectly to you.

Have a lovely day!

Very good point. I must confess that Steemit can become a source of distraction. There is so much here. Some is vital for our immediate and future goals, but a lot is not. Because if internet issues I cannot spend time on YouTube or any other video source, and I use twiter mainly to promote Steemit, but often times I get distracted and it is hard to go back to what matters.
Intentional isolation is not only possible but necessary

Thank you! Yes, Steemit can also become a distraction when you're exploring without a real goal in your mind. Putting away distractions can greatly increase the quality of our lives.

Have a lovely week ahead!

 4 years ago 

Yes, I work in silence, too, or as much silence as I can achieve in this day and age (there's always the hum of the electricity that we fail to notice, as well as cars rumbling along outside). If I have music or tv running I'm distracted. To me silence really is golden.

Yeah, the fridge and other electronics are always on and you can hear them if you want.

Thanks for the comment! Silence is gold - for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87