Empty Shelves for #marketfriday

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

The last time I made a #marketfriday post (initiated by @dswigle), someone commented that they were surprised that I reported empty spots on the shelves in the stores in my area. I went out a few hours ago on another small run for essentials and decided to snap a few photos.

The toilet paper aisle remains completely empty, as can be seen in the following snapshot made on 28-May-2020. There aren't many other stores in this area (as the nearest town claims 3,000 people), but the shelves are also bare at the other stores as well. I honestly don't know how everyone is managing, especially families with many children.

marketfriday1.png

Fortunately, as I was standing there quite dejected at the empty shelves, another woman mentioned a few packages of toilet paper at the far "end cap" of the aisle. It wasn't my preferred brand, but hey — I was thrilled to get a package of it! And yes, I only bought one package so that the other 15 or 20 packages would be available for someone else. That is the way to be considerate and courteous to others during times like these. So, I have six more rolls to get me through until the next shopping excursion, thanks to that kind lady.

As I've said before, if everyone would just buy toilet paper the way they've always done in the past, there would be enough for all who need it. Never in my life of almost 65-years have I seen shortages like these. But a few selfish people have made life difficult for others. I am sure there are some self-proclaimed "preppers" who are hoarding tons of it. At the beginning of this whole COVID-19 event, there were people loading dozens of packages of toilet paper into their big SUVs and pickup trucks. They are the reason the rest of us are having to scrounge now, or do without. 😠 Fortunately, stores have signs that ask: "Only one package per family, please!" but I have no clue how closely that is enforced.

The section of "hand soap" was also empty. Completely, totally empty, without a single bottle on the shelves. I have been using some dish soap in the kitchen — very sparingly, as the dish soap aisle is empty, too — to wash my hands. My hand soap in the bathroom is almost empty, but I have one spare bottle in the closet. If I can't find any more before that runs out, I can always dip into my body wash bottle or even use shampoo if I have to.

marketfriday2.png

The selection was also slim at the "hot cereal" section of the store, but they had several boxes of my favorite grits (a type of porridge, for non-Southerners) so I got one box. For those interested, grits are discussed in more detail here: https://peakd.com/food/@thekittygirl/jalapeno-grits. I already had some oatmeal in my pantry, so I am definitely set until my next marketing day two or three weeks from now.

marketfriday3.png

There were many other sections of the store that were very picked-over and had much fewer goods than usual (such as the coffee shelf, the butter shelf, and so forth), but I was able to find most of what I needed, thankfully! It will be so nice when people stop hoarding and our marketing days can get back to normal.

 😊


to learn more about either of these projects, please visit: @heyhaveyamet or @theterminal


29-May-2020

Sort:  

1 !BEER Token for you

Wow, that's surprising. By your mention of grits my assumption is you are somewhere in the south of the US? Maybe being a major container port has kept our shelves stocked up here in Halifax, Nova Scotia. What is with folks and their toilet paper? If the crunch came it would likely me one of my last choices though my travel along the old silk road to India gave me non-toilet paper training. 😎

 4 years ago 

Yes, I am in the southeastern US, in the Carolina area. I've heard stories of India, but it would be difficult to become accustomed to no toilet paper 😱

Just a bunch of asshole hoarders. 😠

!trdo 🙏 Stay safe

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @thekittygirl!
@thekittygirl will receive 0.00188325 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00125550 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @thekittygirl, your post successfully recieved 0.00188325 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wonderwop earned : 0.0012555 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70