"Just a bit of nonsense, really" Recent Trip Outtakes and Absurdist Photography Collection

in Photography4 years ago (edited)

I've hit a wall. I have so much editing to do with endless options of what form it could all take in the end.

Do I write and create just for myself, with spiritual integrity the ultimate goal? Or do I shill, market, and whore myself out with serving an audience in mind, pandering to their sensibilities? Do you sacrifice integrity and dumb yourself down to serve the dollar and seek the widest audience of the lowest common denominator? Or do you martyr yourself again and again, never compromising, waiting eternally for that hypothetical big payoff?

Neither, right now. Now I just throw some random pictures up from my last trip that would probably be better left unseen. I'll add a little context in the form of a caption for each.

Reject perfectionism. Combat any judgement-oriented outlooks. "Have you ever considered any real freedoms? Freedoms from the opinion of others, even from the opinions of yourself?"

Post some utter garbage, at least every now and then, as an intentional practice. If you can't allow yourself to violate expectations, you are undoubtedly a slave to them. Boy that was a lot of pretentious philosophical crap from someone posting images like these:

nonsense grid.jpg


DSC00901.JPG
Shhhh. Be very, very quiet. I'm hunting toilet paper.

DSC00909.jpg
"Oh my. I never thought I'd see one up close like this. Isn't she just beautiful? So majestic. Are you getting this? Are you recording?"

They're a protected species, and most-rare. But they're worth a fortune. There are only a handful of their kind left. Do we poach her? Or do we abide by the rules and return with only our photographs and stories?

I can't say which we chose here. I'll leave that story to your imagination.

Onward.

DSC09062.jpg
You know, I took photos for this fella and his mistress, and I didn't even notice the little one they had with them.

I found our antics pretty amusing, we had some great improvisational banter and we had the rest of the boomer cookout party in tears. Unfortunately the lovely young woman tanning alone by the pool was not so amused with our beavis & butthead level humor. I'll save you another philosophical explanation, but it is often in your best interest to risk offending people with your humor, and not for the first reasons you'll think of.

DSC07142.jpg
Poseidon and his trusty bearded fish-friend. They look pretty stoned to me.

DSC00981.jpg
"Picking up chicks in Key West" Need I explain? Picking up chicks is the easiest way to pick up chicks. We all have a soft spot for cute helpless things, and we all look for such excuses to approach and start a conversation with someone interesting if we don’t have to courage to just walk up and say “you seem interesting, can we talk for a bit?” Sometimes profound truths are hidden in plain sight. Pick up chicks to effortlessly pick up chicks.

Just be careful, you don't want to be the only guy with bird flu when it's bat flu season. Doctors will just laugh at you.

Or worse yet; you could get a disease from the other chicks. Careful.

No chickens were harmed in the making of this travesty.


I do believe we have arrived at the 'drunken misadventures' portion of this short random collection. Wave goodbye to sobriety, it doesn't return after this point in my post. Just a lot of booze, despite the earlier jokes about psychedelics.

DSC00429.jpg
This wasn’t my hat. But I certainly didn’t have enough of a filter to not make it a part of my night. I took it on an adventure to find one of the guys who ran off drunk away from the party. Then came back to return it.

I found myself at a gay Key West house party that night... think I was the only straight guy there. I was cool with that, they were all great company, I just made my preferences clear when asked with words or “advances”. It didn’t really disuade some of them, though. Really kind respectful guy put that hat put on me in a flirtatious manner. He was married and seemed committed/monogamous, had a wonderful chat with that guy. Others were a little more forward, but hey— it’s my job to put my foot down and say “no” where necessary, I had no issues doing that when it came to it.

DSC07937.jpg
What an unflattering angle. What a horrendous expression. I will say that was my intention at the time. I often feel the best part of getting drunk is playing it up like we're even more drunk. The car I'm either hovering over or about to fall on might have been less intended.

DSC07941.jpg
"STOP! GET OUT!" Yes sir-- sorry sir-- the vagabond didn't mean anything by it.

I can take a hint. I'll be going now.

Final addition:

“The Vagabond” and I had a third in our Trio that night, who was a bit concerning. He later really opened him up, he confessed to having “killed a lot of people” in a murderous sense, as well as having done some terrible things in the military and spending time in Guantanamo Bay before he had murdered a few someones. Yes, it was intensely troubling. But it was amazing how Vagabond and I opened him up, earned his trust, and helped him psychologically with some really honest advice. Talk about compassion... I’m pretty proud of how the two of us handled Mr. Psycho, but we both decided we never wanted to see that dude again. Too risky, too mentally unstable. Glad we offered him help and answers in all the ways I believe we did. No one is beyond redemption, right?

I’ll have to tell that whole story in text at some point... unfortunately I am still in possession of what has since been dubbed “the serial killer’s notebook”... like the sequence at the beginning of the movie Se7en. It’s a great story, and the notebook has some batshit crazy stuff in it, though most pages are empty. Believe me, I spent an entire Saturday while on vacation trying to return “the serial killer’s notebook”, knowing it probably means more to him than to anyone else, it’s his writing. I couldn’t find his apartment. My plan was to leave it on his porch, but I couldn’t find his place. All three of us had drank until the sun came up, I had no idea where I was that night, no idea where his apartment was, eventually had to give up on returning it, which made me sad. Last thing I wanted to do was for him to not remember what happened and think we stole it from him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66