Up close and organic style!

in Photographylast year

HI Steemers!
I have been away for a few weeks but pleased now to be back and updating on my latest Hügelkultur garden. This raised bed is a kind of oval shape about 3 metres by 2.5 metres and although not completely full of produce right now has a lot of yummy veg thriving in it. The middle area will fill up with basil and parsley over the coming weeks as the seeds lying in that area will soon sprout and grow up. I can't wait to see what it will look like 2 months from now.

This took a lot of work to make and fill the bed - a lot of wood chunks, sticks and branches, barley straw, composted garden and kitchen waste and LOVE went into its construction but I couldn't be happier with the results.
A lot of what is growing is from last seasons wild spread seeds - onions, leeks, lettuce, jalepeno, nettle, borage, mint, basil,radish, kale, spinach, celery and tomatoes was left to go to seed and sowed itself with none of my help. A sort of experiment you could say. I don't have a huge amount of time for gardening as my narration work takes up a big chunk of my time so I like no dig, no sow type gardening whenever possible.
I did tease out and replant a bunch of the celery to spread them out but the rest I have left to see just what it can do naturally.

I do have other beds and areas of the garden that are more orderly but this mound is an experiment in progress and I am loving it!

IMG_0113.jpg

IMG_0107.jpg

IMG_0117.jpg

IMG_0135.jpg

IMG_0134.jpg

IMG_0115.jpg

IMG_0094.jpg

IMG_0096.jpg

IMG_0143.jpg

IMG_0127.jpg

IMG_0103.jpg

IMG_0152.jpg

IMG_0106.jpg

IMG_0116.jpg

IMG_0156.jpg

DSCF7581.JPG.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post! I am now off to cruise YOUR posts and see what I have been missing over the past few weeks.
Much love to you all.

Stay Wild, Stay Free

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91