5 Degree Orion

in Picture A Day4 years ago

2-24-2020

The Orion Constellation

DSC_9215 cropped original orion resized.jpg

I am still trying to learn a little about night photography. I do think I am slowly improving. On the clear nights in the part of Alaska I live it is still bitterly cold. last night was 5 degrees Fahrenheit, (-15C). Better than the minus teens we were suffering but still to cold to stand outside for long and take several setting shots, and aiming at night is not an easy thing to do when it is cold, Watery eyes make for a hard time to look through the view finder.

The settings for the image above were: f/5.6 - 10 seconds - ISO 2500. The lens was my Nikon DX VR Nikkor AFP 10-20mm landscape lens. Camera was Nikon D7500.

I tried to get a Cassiopeia image also, but the cold got to me and aiming was a problem. i did try a few different setting on her, but well with the miss aiming no real good shot from that part of the sky.

Sort:  

That’s a pretty good shot! No movement at all for a ten second shot of the sky is awesome. Being closer to the pole may help a bit with that. Brrrrr. Was 62 here today. Absolutely beautiful but cold weather on the way.

We get a few clear nights, but in the winter it is down right cold, at least it was warmer than the last time I tried to get night shots of the sky, then it was -12 way to cold for man and machine. I am glad the super cold nights, I think, are done with.

!ENGAGE 25

It’s looking like it. Why couldn’t we have been born Hawaiian!? 😖 🥶



@bdmillergallery you have received 25 ENGAGE from @bashadow!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I think I see the Big Dipper !

It's upside down though, so whatever was in it has surely spilled out. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60860.14
ETH 2960.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61