THE JOYS AND DANGERS OF PHOTOGRAPHING WILD SKUNKS

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

I definitely took a risk here!

While herping with a new friend ("herping" being exploring the wild in search of reptiles and amphibians) we encountered a pile of tires. I noticed animal activity, including scat (poop) and a burrow, and we almost immediately found a Milk Snake (Lampropeltis triangulum), so we were both excited and wary right from the start.

Here's a look at that milk snake. Beautiful, isn't it?


Anyway, I did not recognize the scat right away, but both it and burrow appeared to be of mammalian origin. As we continued our exploration in hopes of additional Milk Snakes, a skunk emerged from the burrow. My new friend was literally taken aback by it, but I carried on with the business at hand. Yes, skunks can spray, but that's from the rear end of them, beneath the tail. Also, last I heard, there was no cure for skunk rabies, but this one did not appear to be very defensive.

While I searched for serpents, it mostly watched and evaluated escape routes. Eventually I asked my new friend to lend me his phone so I could take a few photos of the skunk, and he obliged, albeit from a distance. Eventually the skunk decided it had had enough for the time being and departed across the field. We finished our herping adventure in the tire pile and only turned up a small newt before piling the tires back up. I think the skunk probably returned later that day after our departure.

Here are the photos of the skunk. Would you shove a phone just a few feet from a skunk to take some photos? If you do, please be careful. Enjoy!

TIRED SKUNK PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!

Check out our Etsy shop


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66