PONTYPOOL (2008) - Failed Zombie Revival

in Steem Sri Lanka4 months ago

So, "Pontypool" is this Canadian horror movie from 2008 that tries something new with zombies. Instead of the usual stuff, it happens in a radio station during a zombie outbreak. Sounds cool, right? Like, "Night of the Living Dead" but with a radio twist. Even George A Romero would have been interested in this premise. But, I gotta be honest, it took me a good half-hour to actually get into it, and by the third act, I got kinda lost. Gonna blame on the film for that.

image.png

Source

The main guy, Stephen McHattie as Grant Mazzy, does a good intense job, but it took a while for me to connect with the characters. Lisa Houle and Georgina Reilly, who play Sydney Briar and Laurel-Ann Drummond, also try their best to keep things suspenseful, but the first half being a bit slow for me always kept a distance with me.

image.png

Source

Even though "Pontypool" has a cool idea with a virus spreading through language, it didn't quite hit the mark for me. The movie tries to do something different with zombies, keeping it all in a radio station and focusing on freaking people out mentally. Some people might love that, but for me, it didn't hold my interest well, especially in the third part of the movie. Ending was kinda nothing and hollow, I thought. Therefore to conclude, Despite its unique approach, the movie's execution might not be everyone's cup of tea.

image.png

Source

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68