MUSIC FOR STEEM WEEK 11 - @esouthern3 and @cmp2020 “Wondering”

As @cmp2020 mentioned in last week’s article, this week’s entry is from the TV show High School Musical: The Musical: The Series (a Disney+ original show). The song title is “Wondering” (performed in Episode 2 of Season 1: “The Read-Through”).

Choosing the Song

Growing up, I absolutely loved the High School Musical movies. I learned all of the songs and loved singing them all the time. I was really excited when Disney+ announced the plan to create this TV show spin-off. I watched the first season soon after it first premiered. Each episode has an original song for the show (and some of the songs from the first High School Musical movie). While I really like all of the songs, “Wondering” stood out to me. As I’ve mentioned plenty of times before, I love ballads! I really connected with these lyrics, as well. I often finding myself wondering about “what might have been” and what the future may hold which is exactly what I perceive from this song.

Here is the recording (followed by lyrics):

Seems like a part of me will always have to lose
Every single time I have to choose
Swore that it felt right, but was I wrong?
Is this where I'm supposed to be at all?
I don't have the answers, not today
It's like nothing makes the questions go away
What I'd give to see
If the grass was greener

On the other side of all I've had and lost
Would it be enough?
Or would I still be wondering?

If I could go back and change the past
Be a little braver than I had
And bet against the odds
Would I still be lost?
Even if I woke up in my dreams
Would there still be something I'm missing?
If I had everything
Would it mean anything to me?

Ooh

Feels like I might have broke the best thing that I had
I said too much to ever take it back
Scared I'll never find something as good
And would I even know it if I could?

From the other side of all I've had and lost
Would it be enough?
Or would I still be wondering?
Or would I still be wondering? Oh

If I could go back and change the past
Be a little braver than I had
And bet against the odds
Would I still be lost?
Even if I woke up in my dreams
Would there still be something I'm missing?
If I had everything
Would it mean anything?

Maybe I should turn around and take the other road
Or maybe I'm just looking for what I already know
I'm just wondering

If I could go back and change the past
Be a little braver than I had
And bet against the odds
Would I still be lost?
Even if I woke up in my dreams
Would there still be something I'm missing?
If I had everything
Would it mean anything to me?

Would it be enough?
Or would I still be wondering?

About the Song

In the plotline of High School Musical: The Musical: The Series (HSMTMTS), students at East High School are putting on a production of High School Musical (HSM) for their winter musical. The student (Ashlyn) in HSMTMTS who is playing Mrs. Darbus, the drama teacher from the movie musical HSM, is tasked with writing a new song for her character to be performed in the show. Ashlyn comes up with “Wondering”, trying to express her character’s conflict of supporting students and doing her job. However, Ashlyn ends up practicing this song with another student, Nini, which gives the song another meaning. Nini is conflicted over her relationships with her ex-boyfriend and current boyfriend, and she is struggling to understand her feelings.

Conclusion

I hope you enjoy this week’s song and performance! Hint for next week: I hope you don't mind...it's a huge love song from 1970.

Sort:  

My goodness! What the lyrics... ! Loved it.. trust me the song you've sung, it touched somewhere in my mind. Thanks for choosing this one .. yeah, another thing is that the piano.. just waw waw & waw ❤️

Hi! Thanks for getting closer to the mic, as your voice is worth to tune up the volume!

Those Disney songs are so magical and definitely not an easy music genre to perfom. Thanks for including the story of the song too, I really like that!

Nope we do not mind love songs at ALL. Music is art and a form of expression. Love is the same

Hermosooooo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70