'Debi - দেবী' | Bangla Moview Review | Steem Bangladesh Contest

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago

Movies that are based on novels are not my favorite. Because most of the time it ruins the story, turn the story into something else. But what movie I'm gonna talk about today is totally different. It made me stuck to the monitor the whole time.

I'm talking about Debi - দেবী | Bangladeshi Thriller film, based on Humayun Ahmed's novel.

97b923da0f6ab62a742eaa008e16e1af-5bceebd887556.jpg
img

The movie released in 2018. You can get every detail about the film here in this Wiki link.

So I'm going to give the detail but jumping to write my review!

Casting Review

I have watched it very late, last month. The paranormal activities, feeling of the main character 'Jaya Ahsan as Ranu' were extraordinary. Also, 'Chanchal Chowdhury as Misir Ali' was phenomenal. As it's based on a popular novel and the Misir Ali character is an established novel character in our Bangla novel, so I was not sure if Chanchal Chowdhury could carry that role. But I was not disappointed. Also, the side roles are played very well.

Plot Review

You can get the film's plot detail on the Wiki link. So I'm gonna share what I felt watching the movie instead of describing the plot.

  • This film carried out the 'Ranu' part very well. Ranu was a housewife with some supernatural power. She had to go through a molestation case in her childhood and that changed her life. She got the abnormal/supernatural power after that. She could tell the future, see the future or present sometimes.

The storytelling of "Ranu's life' seemed pretty good to me.

  • Misir Ali was a supporting character who was trying to help Ranu so she could get better. They were thinking she needs psychological help and telepathy.

But how the plot twist, in the end, gave us answers to everything.

  • She shaved the life of 'Sabnam Faria as Nilu' from a molester by her supernatural power.

Ranu died in the end but saved Nilu and lived in Nilu's life...

It was mind-blogging but the film replicates the novel very well. I really enjoyed the climax.

web-1-1540141522350.jpg
img

My Honest Review

  • I wouldn't say this movie was the best. But they tried their best for sure and worth watching. Debi could be a film if it's not this slow-phased movie. It could create some more spark by adding more supernatural activities. But it's not a commercial film, so I think they were trying to tell the story the way they felt it.

  • The acting of every character was brilliant. But the editing, the direction could be better. The supernatural parts don't seem scary at all, totally opposite to the novel. There were no loud sounds, the movie felt very dull because of this. Also, it doesn't display the 'Villain' character very well, it was like a side character which it would not be.

So overall, I was not disappointed but I was not satisfied also. I would give it 4/5.

The movie got a lot of recognition and awards. I hope we will get to see more movies like this in the future and would not be disappointed.

Hive Steem Footer.gif

Twitter Discord

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

রিভিউটি চমৎকার ছিল।
শেখার আছে অনেক কিছু, তাই কিছুটা শিখছি আপনাদের কাছ থেকে।
ধন্যবাদ চমৎকার রিভিউ এর জন্য 💞

 3 years ago 

We all learn from each other. Thanks for your wonderful words. :) :)

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73