**SEC17 WK:#4: the effects of economic hardships on families **

in Steem Kids & Parents17 days ago



“Hard times are here!”

I can remember these words from my mother so well. Little did I realize what she meant with these words. It was only as I grew older and had my own family that the words sunk in, and I got to experience them firsthand.

Economic hardships on families!

A topic that 99.9% of us can write about. If you are one of those who fall under the 0.1% bracket, count your lucky stars and don’t even bother to read further, as this post is not for you.
If you are one of those who fall under the 99.9% bracket, I encourage you to read to the very end.

If I had to explain to you what economic hardship is, I could do it in four words, “when you are tested!”

I have seen families where economic hardship took away the millions in their bank accounts.

I have seen families that were left with nothing—not a house, no transport, and no food on the table. The cardboard boxes are their makeshift home under the bridge of an intersection.

I have seen families where the head of the house committed suicide due to the economic hardships the family experienced.

These families were tested to the “T.” Some of them survived, and others did not. Oh yes, and then some do their utmost to survive each day.

It is with the latter that I want to stand still—those families that are fighting for survival in difficult economic situations.

2023, and my daughter and her husband decided they wanted to immigrate. Fine, I understand where they come from. They are thinking of their children and what is best for them. South Africa is not the country it used to be, and it is getting more and more difficult for the youth to survive. At the end of last year, the unemployment rate was 32.1%.

They decided to immigrate to New Zealand despite warnings from us. My son is living in Ireland, and for me, it only made sense that they should think about moving somewhere where there will be support for them. What do mothers know? New Zealand, it will be.

They went ahead and sold everything—the house, cars, and furniture. What they could not sell, they gave away. They were only left with a suitcase each for the four of them, filled with clothes and some personal belongings. The rest they will buy there.

The grass was not as green as they thought it was going to be. After only two weeks, it was decided to kiss New Zealand goodbye. This was after they paid for the visas and flight tickets, paid upfront rent for six months, bought things for the rented house that they could not bring back with them, and the list goes on. They lost everything!

Back in South Africa, there was no job, no home, and a country that was economically being tested. There was no longer an income, let alone a budget.

They had no choice but to move in with the in-laws. Coming to us was out of the question, as life is very expensive here and the opportunities in Johannesburg are so much more. Johannesburg is a hundred times bigger than our town.

It was not easy for them. There were not even beds for the children to sleep on. If the kids were hungry, she had to ask her mother-in-law if it was okay if she gave them some bread to eat. Many days I would call her, and all she could do was cry. I often wonder what she did with the money I keep giving her. One thing I am certain of is that it never went to her but to her family.

It was of utmost importance for her husband to find a job and for the kids to get back into school. Education is very expensive in South Africa, and she didn’t know what she was going to do. After a couple of days, she walked into the school, knocked on the principal’s office, and walked in. She was determined to see him, no matter what.

I called her later, and she could not even speak; she was crying. The school accepted the children without them paying a school fee. In fact, they went so far as to take her to the second-hand shop and give her the school clothes the two needed. All that was left for me was to buy their stationery, school bags, and lunch boxes, and to make sure there was always something for her to pack for them.

The money they had left after their ordeal was used to buy a small second-hand vehicle so that her husband could do some odd jobs. It is fine when you have a vehicle, but it is not so fine when you have to put in fuel and you don’t have the money or when you have the money and the vehicle breaks. It is was also not fine if you had to ride around for days looking for something to do. “Sorry, we don’t have vacancies.” Or, “Sorry we don’t need anyone right now, we will phone you.”

“Mom, I never realized how difficult it is out there. I now know what it takes just to survive.” My daughter’s words.

When you are in the financial sector, you know all too well that there are three main reasons for economic hardship: material difficulties, financial stress, and when people are poverty strapped. They experienced all three.

Six months later, I bought them flight tickets to come to us for my birthday. All I wanted was to have my daughter and my grandchildren with me. There were big crocodile tears when we fetched them at the airport last week. My daughter lost a lot of weight, even though she is a tiny person. She looked so fragile, yet so happy.

They are on the road named “Recovery.” They now rent a small place they can call home. Family and friends opened their “homes” for them and donated furniture and other things. She was lucky, as so many of our boxes are still in storage. She could put me on call, and I could tell her. ‘’Take it”.. and “You can have it.”

The kids are loving their schools, and her husband, previously a business owner, is now selling sweets to tuck shops and fixing cameras. As for her, she created a pamphlet and started advertising her services. She even had an interview on Friday right here in my hometown and will be doing SEO work remotely for the lady. I am super proud of them! They are being tested!

They have far to go to get where they were before the move, and I doubt if they will ever get there, but one thing is certain: their love for each other will keep them going no matter how difficult the situation might be.

My friends, there are so many valuable lessons to learn from their ordeal when it comes to economic difficulties.

  • No matter the decisions you make, keep your dignity.
  • To survive, the decisions you make must become absolute and simpler.
  • There are always people willing to help.
  • It is not wrong to ask.
  • There is always someone somewhere who is worse off than you.
  • Help others, and one day you will reap the rewards.
  • Learn from your experience.
  • Take it one day at a time, but keep your eyes on the goal at all times.
  • Turn your pennies over (think before you spend).
  • Love each other!
  • You pray like never before.

There is only one thing left for me to say regarding economic difficulties for families, you have to plan for what the future might bring. If I hadn't done it, I would not have been in a position to help them nor to spoil them as I could in the few days we had.


Always plan for the unexpected!



image.png

The photo is my own and the image created with Canva

I invite: @wilmer1988 @aviral123 @chant @suboohi to participate.

ACCOUNT SUMMARY:29 April 2024
Club statusClub100
Transfer to vesting:7,254.000 STEEM
Normal transfer:64 STEEM (Competitions and charity)
Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 17 days ago 

Did we not learn from last week's engagement challenge that experience comes with age and circumstances? This story of your daughter's family is so touching. Economic hardships can come as a result of some decisions we undertake which didn't go as expected. I am in tears but I admire their determination, courage and boldness to come back and start all over again. with God's help and with your supports and that of other family members, they will come off it and stand again. The truth is that, economic hardships have adverse effects on families. Thank you for your detailed entry and for being a pillar of support to them. Success to you

 17 days ago 

Yip! Experience, circumstances, and age! That was last week's topic. I will not forget it. (•ิ‿•ิ)
There is a silver lining to this dark cloud. I get to see them in real life! I get to hug them, I get spoiled with a cup of tea in bed, and I get to tell my grandchildren stories from my younger days. Things I would have missed out on had they stayed in NZ.

their determination, courage and boldness

And a bit of good luck, and they will make it!

Economic hardship, as the saying goes;

“When the rich are too rich, there are ways, and when the poor are too poor, there are ways...and that way will come soon.”

Amen!

PS: Thank you for the visit and your beautiful comment!

 17 days ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 in the Steem kids and parents Community.

I really feel bad for your daughter, honestly is not easily to start afresh in an unknown land where you don't have anyone, thank God your daughter was back to South Africa.
These issue of traveling has made me stay in my home town, a lot of people keep telling me to change locations and I said to myself, how will I start? Why because I know I will be struggling financially.

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)10/10

Remember to always share your post on Twitter. This POST LINK is a guide to that effect

 16 days ago 

Thank you for the nice verification!
When you move, you must be 100% sure that it is going to work for you. If there is just the slightest doubt, stay where your support is.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 17 days ago 

Thank you!

This is so touching story you put up here. There is so much that economic hardship can really at times makes us to face that is not pleasant. One of the circumstances that happen which I don't really want at times. I remember when things was so tough last two years in my family due to the economic hardship

 16 days ago 

We are going through tough times, that is for sure!
Most of the difficult economic times normally happen when we are not expecting them or when we have no control over them, like with COVID.
I am convinced that, until today, we are experiencing the aftereffects of COVID.
Thank you for the visit and the comment! ☕

 11 days ago 

I agree with your 99% formula that most of us suffer at one or the other stage from this and also the three reasons behind this. However, there is much more to it.

I faced it during COVID and my layoff period starting 2020 to the beginning of July last year. I did not suffer much financially as much as I did mentally but I know several families, some of them close to me who were almost on the brink of starvation.

I read you and what your family has gone through but as you said 99.1% of us face it but the ones with courage manage to come out of it. Have a nice day ahead!

 11 days ago 

COVID! I often wonder how our lives would have been without it. Okay, not just our lives, but the world.
Let's just take technology. I wonder if we would have been so advanced as we are today.

As for economic difficulties, it is just like those rollercoaster rides, as one Steemian mentioned. It comes and goes, and the hardship is also not always the same.

Thank you for the visit and the great comment!

 17 days ago 

Your content always stands out. And I enjoyed reading your post. I have learnt a lot from your post and also can relate with economic hardship as Nigeria has always been facing it. We've had lots of families committing suicide out of depression. We always pray for better days but it seems it never gets better. All we have to do is get better when it comes to our income because waiting on the government to make things easier isn't visible. But we hope everyday..will it ever get better?

Nice write-up Ma'am.

 16 days ago 

Now that you've mentioned it, they showed a couple of weeks ago on one of your news channels how people were fighting over food in Nigeria. It broke my heart when I saw it.
Will ecnonomic hardhip get better? I don't have the answer to this question, but what I can tell you is that it is time for individuals to think outside the box. Now is the time for entrepreneurs to make their entrance.
My stepson's phone got stolen at a school where they were playing rugby. It was a brand-new phone. My husband refused to buy him a new phone. Guess what he is now doing at school? Selling sweets.
Let that be a lesson for us adults.

Thank you for the visit and the engagement!

 16 days ago 

The pleasure is all mine...Thank you too

 17 days ago 

Assalamu Alaikum, I hope you are well. First of all, congratulations for participating in the best contest and sharing your beautiful opinion with us. It is very difficult that a lot of problems arise in families just because of some economic conditions because the economic conditions become such that fights, quarrels and problems increase in families and everyone has to make a lot of sacrifices. Everyone's dreams have to be crushed and many families are destroyed because of this.

We should face economic difficulties together, everyone has bad times and good times, so if you have had good times, learn to spend bad times too. A person who has bad times is highly valued. And they say that after a bad time, there is always a good time. I like your post very much and you have shared many beautiful ideas with us. Similarly, keep sharing your quality posts with us. take care of you. 😍

Best Regards 😍
Maryam Nadeem

 16 days ago 

Thank you for the wonderful comment! 🎕

You are right; there is always light at the end of the tunnel. All that we must do is keep our eyes on the good times.

It is sad that families quarrel in bad times, but I can understand where they come from. If there is pressure, a lot can go wrong. However, I have also seen family members standing together, united, in bad times. It makes carrying the burden so much lighter.

I really believe you have given that perfect definition of that economic hardship, it really means when you are actually tested and that is true. Every economic hardship is always a form where we are tested and tried

 16 days ago 

Awh! And don't we get tested! I often wonder how I am going to get out of this situation. Where am I going to get the money to pay for it? I do believe it is when we are tested that your belief must be at its best. Somehow, we always find an outcome.

Thanks for the visit and the engagement!

 17 days ago (edited)

Saludos cordiales estimada amiga patjewell, un placer para mi saludarte, leer y comentar tu participación en este reto.

Emigrar es un tema mundial, en el caso de tu hija con una inflación de 32 % ahora imagínate la vida de nosotros los venezolanos con muchos años con inflación de 3 dígitos, incluso llego un día al 500 %.

Te deseo mucha suerte en este reto. Bendiciones.

 16 days ago 

Oh gosh! I can just imagine!
I listened to a very interesting radio broadcast yesterday. They say that the worst country to apply for a new business is Venezuela. It takes over 200 days for approval. How on earth can they expect to grow the economy if that is the case? It blows my mind!

Thank you for the visit and the engagement!

 16 days ago 

Es cierto los retrasos están en todos lados, hay mucha burocracia en todos los niveles de nuestra sociedad.

 16 days ago 

It is so sad and it makes me so cross!! It takes 1 day in NZ, 40 days in South Africa!

 16 days ago 

Que bien, hasta 40 días en Sur África es aceptable.

 17 days ago 

The story about your daughter is so touching. Let say it's a big lesson to all.

And it simply means think before you act.

Thanks for sharing with us I really learn a lot.

 16 days ago 

You know what is the moral of the story? Listen to your mother. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you! I appreciated the visit and the engagement. 🎕

 16 days ago 

Yeah. Is good to listen to our parents. In our side we say, that what an elderly person see while sitting even if a child climb the tallest tree he or she can not see it.

 16 days ago 

That is so true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68