SEC17 WK:#3: large and small families, likes and dislikes

in Steem Kids & Parents15 days ago
20240426_234605_0000.pngDesigned with canva

Hello friends and beautiful friends of steem kids and parents community, welcome to my entry to this week's engagement challenge.

I bring you greetings from Lagos Nigeria my base, and I believe you are good from your end.

In this challenge, we are to express our likes and dislikes about large and small family.

Family
family-7257182_1280.jpgSource

First I would love to give a brief definition on family, before proceeding to give my likes and dislikes of whether small or large family.

A family consists of parents that's (father and mother) with their children, connected by either blood or adoption.

Types Of Family

Nuclear Family:

This is a combination of just the immediate family, family, mother and children.

Extended Family:

This is a type of family that goes beyond the nuclear family. It consists of the immediate family of (father, mother and children) plus other relatives like (grandparents, uncles, cousins, aunts, nieces etc.

But for the context of this contest, we are going to be looking at preferences of nuclear family.

My Preference Of Family

Personally I prefer small family and I would have a small family when married.

This is because, while growing up, I grew up from a large family.

I'm from a family of 7 plus my parents that's 9.

I saw what my parents went through in raising this large family, especially my mum.

Apart from the financial involvement, it's not easy raising a large family and making sure that everybody's head is correct till they grow up.

It took my mum a lot, I could see years of labour in talking, teaching, scolding, pampering, praying, giving it's a lot.

And she made sure that she caries everyone along, it wasn't funny.

Some days she would shout from morning till evening, trying to make corrections.

And some kids can really be

Though in the western world, you don't shout at kids, but here in Nigeria, it's allowed.

You just have to shout when necessary, flog when necessary, correct when necessary and pamper when necessary.

When it's time to cook, my mum cooks as though there is a party going on.

She has this very large pot she uses in Cooking and the food finishes as soon as it's prepared.

When it was time for school, the bills for school fees were just flying from left, right, front and back.

Everything was always in excess

After watching all that from my mum, I advised myself that I don't have the kind of energy my mum had, so it would be better to stick with a small family once it's time.

Though when they are all grown up, it's kind of very lovely, humans will fill up everywhere. The house will just be vibrating all the time.

I enjoy the gists and crowd each time we all come home during festive periods, but I can't afford to pay the prize to have the large family.

I can only admire large family when they are all grown up, but I am not interested in having it.

Once everyone is grown up, it's usually lovely, the sight. But at tender age it's not funny.

I saw first hand from my immediate family, then I advised myself that I'm not in for a large family. 3 kids are enough, at most 4.

This is my entry to contest, thank you for visiting

I also invites @ceendy20 and @alexanderpeace to come participate in this contest.

Regards

Sort:  
 15 days ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 in the Steem kids and parents Community.
My dear friend you have shared awesome experience and you preferred to have little family which has definitely its own family. You grown up in large family and obviously you have enjoy it very well.

Please share your post on Twitter it would be great please.

Club Status#club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)9.5/10

Alright ma'am
Thanks for the review.
I'm sharing right away.

Reading, I imagined your mom at home and I smiled because it reminded me of my grandmothers in my childhood, their screams and their large families, they were the matriarchs of our families, they controlled everything haha, tremendous women. But like you I wouldn't have more than the two that I already have, the expenses, the energy, the time consumed in raising and educating your children, giving them attention and support. This only makes us more admire those who made it. Blessings to you, may you continue to enjoy those holidays with that crowd that loves you the most.

I think they were able to cope then because things were not as difficult as it is today, especially cost of living.
Anyone planning a large family now should be ready for a lot.
Thanks for visiting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66