BEST MOMENTS OF MY LIFE : MOMENTS I SPEND AT OUR CONVENTIONS

in Steemit Nursery3 years ago

IMG_20191206_115533_6.jpg.

Hello steemians, it's nice meeting you all in this amazing community. Today I'll be making my first post here about the best moments of my life.

The best moments of my life are moments I spend at our conventions. Each year, Jehovah's witnesses meet together in large groups at conventions. These conventions usually last 3 days from Friday till Sunday. They are held in large places of worship called Assembly Halls

images.jpg
Ubogo Assembly Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses, Delta State, Nigeria.
Source : EVYmaps.com https://www.google.com/search?q=ubogo+assembly+hall+of+jehovah%27s+witnesses+abuse&client=ms-android-gionee&prmd=mniv&sxsrf=ALeKk01c3uVDe1mqVRcsMAtj7Xyq6K3kfA:1619887189059&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjGieuD9qjwAhW5wuYKHU6vBREQ_AUoA3oECAIQAw&biw=360&bih=560#imgrc=WlNd1VydpuP8-M

in some cases, at rented facilities such as event halls and stadiums. As one of Jehovah's witnesses, I have attended every convention since I was born and each convention has been the best one yet . Convention attendees are called delegates and they are easily identified by a wearing a lapel card carrying the convention's theme . I'm putting one on in my introductory picture.

WHAT HAPPENS AT A CONVENTION OF JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES ?

Each convention has a Bible-based theme. Last year the theme was "ALWAYS REJOICE! " . our conventions feature talks and videos that teach scriptural lessons. Interviews and re-enactments are also done to show us how to apply Bible principles in our lives . On Saturdays, there is an opportunity for those who have dedicated their lives in service to God to symbolize it by water baptism.
22528045_1425556950888087_3245750866416261629_n.jpg
A picture of my brother getting baptized in 2017

WHY I LOVE CONVENTIONS
The beautiful qualities displayed by convention delegates is always intriguing. In a world where people are generally impatient, angry and self centered, the peace, orderliness, kindness, modesty and generosity displayed at the conventions is particularly noteworthy. Secondly, the scriptural reminders from the program help strengthen my faith and renew my confidence in the Bible's promises. Also I'm touched by the love and unity that exist among the attendees. We get to meet people for the first time and it feels like we've known them our whole lives - we're a family.
IMG-20210501-WA0007.jpg
Each day's program gives room for a noon break where we have an interchange of encouragement and an opportunity to show generosity to others by sharing meals with them.It's always exciting and fun
IMG-20210501-WA0011.jpg
Me with a plate of jollof rice someone shared with me.

Those three days are usually the best days of the year for me. I always wish they never ended because when I'm there all my worries and anxieties disappear. It feels like I'm in another life, one without problems. At the end of the conventions, I return home refreshed and renewed. The feeling never gets old.

CONVENTION IN A PANDEMIC
Interestingly, the pandemic has no hold on the convention. Last year, we were still able to enjoy the program virtually. The entire program was pre recorded and uploaded in segments from July - August 2020 at the official website of Jehovah's witnesses. Families and individuals downloaded and watched the videos every weekend during that time in order to maintain social distancing. It was a new experience, we missed the association but the value was the same. Each of these weekends, we'll dress up like we're going to the Assembly Hall and watch the program at our various locations.
118763201_3100755620034870_8621825343073334294_n.jpg
At the hospital last year,fully dressed up to attend the virtual convention.

2021 CONVENTION
This year the convention will still be held virtually in order to maintain social distancing due to the pandemic. The theme for this year's convention is "POWERFUL BY FAITH! ", Sounds interesting, right ? I'm already excited. I'm eagerly anticipating the program. A campaign will be organized later this year to invite you friends to a convention in your language. If you get an invitation, please try to attend, even if it's just parts of it and I promise you won't regret it.

I really appreciate @bright-obias for giving me this opportunity to share these wonderful moments in this platform.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Welcome to steemit @ejwilliams, I am particularly delighted to have you here. Please steem on

I appreciate

This post has been rewarded by @bright-obias from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Thank you, Steemit Team!

I sincerely appreciate. I'll keep doing my best

 3 years ago 

Thank you for participating in the contest

Thank you did the opportunity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66