You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time to change - a personal note | Zeit für Veränderung - Notiz an mich selbst

in Deutsch Unpluggedlast year

I'm the same age as you and I feel some of your experiences as though I have lived them myself. 🙂

It took for me to do an MBA (about 7 years ago) and the focus on self-reflection to realise that no matter how hard I worked and no matter how high I progressed in an organisation, that wasn't what I really wanted. I'd worked hard for promotions, to earn more (even though I couldn't spend what I already had) and with each step up, I wanted the next one. Never satisfied. Never happy. I enjoyed what I did, but I always wanted more.

The self-reflection led me to realise that the reason these things weren't making me entirely happy were because there was something more important to me than progress and it's a simple word - freedom. The money I earned and the companies that I worked for allowed me relative freedom in the workplace and outside of it. But I was constrained by hierarchy and process. I wouldn't ever feel true freedom until I was free from these constraints. So around 2015, I quit it all and decided to do my own thing.

Now I have 2 children and I will never experience freedom again 🤣

Sort:  
 last year 

Now I have 2 children and I will never experience freedom again 🤣

True words :-))
I can't imagine what I did before the kids, with the workload I'm doing now....

 last year 

I can't imagine what I did before the kids, with the workload I'm doing now....

We said the same thing 3 months after having our first child. Life before children (the good old days) was a distant memory in an instant.

 last year 

Great reply and thank you for your words.
You´re right - the job is ok, the sallary is very good. But it´s not everything... And so I want to change.

But children are more rewarding then a promotion could ever be :-)

 last year 

But children are more rewarding then a promotion could ever be :-)

It's without doubt the hardest job I've ever done 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63