Steemit Engagement Challenge S2W2 | Steem4Nigeria Contest | No place like home by @sammylove

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Good Day Great Steemians. I count it a privilege to be part of this challenge organized by @steem4nigeria community.

Each person indeed should love his country and this is why I think this post is very fitting.

Let’s get into the post as I tell you about my wonderful country Nigeria.

Screenshot from 2022-06-14 01-37-55.png
Image designed by me using canva

Brief Introduction about my country

My country Nigeria is located in the western region of Africa. It is termed the “Giant of Africa” because it is the most populated country in Africa with over 216 million occupants. It has borders with countries like Niger, Cameroon, Chad and Benin Republic.

Nigeria comprises 36 states and capitals. The second Largest City in Africa is Lagos CIty and it is found in Nigeria.

Nigeria got her independence from the British colony on 1st october 1960. She got her name from Journalist Flora Shaw who later became a wife of British Lord Lugard.

The Nigerian flag was designed by a civil servant known as Mr Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi. It comprises two colors Green and White and it is arranged as Green/White/Green. The green color represents her agriculture while the white color stands for peace.

SInce her independence in 1960, my country has tried many forms of rulership and presently, they are practicing the Democratic system of Government.

Things I love about my country

I love many things about my country and this includes:

The Hustling Spirit of her citizens


Nigerians have termed it a country for hardworking people. Truthfully, no lazy person can happily survive in my country. Nigeria is a country that encourages industriousness because the standard of living is not too high so each one needs to work to provide for their basic needs.

This is one of the reasons why Lagos city is being recognized in Africa and worldwide since it is said to be the financial capital of Nigeria. Many people migrate from their various cities to Lagos city in order to hustle for survival.

The Natural Resources


A greater percentage of the 36 states in Nigeria have natural resources which when processed can be sold to earn for the state and country in general. For example, Enugu and Ondo State are known for their coal mining. Akwa Ibom, Delta, RIvers, Edo, Abia and Imo State are known for having enough crude oil. Edo, Ebonyi, Kaduna and Oyo state have gold. Other states too have their resources like salt, bitumen and so on.

The presence of these resources is a big gift to my country and shows that nature found favor with us. These resources have helped in generating income for the country.

The Talents of Her citizens

My country has raised many talented persons that are popular in the world today. WIzkid is recognized in the music world, John Mikel obi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Chukwueze and others are very popular in the world of football. Nigeria is also very popular in the movie world with many actors like Genevieve Nnaji whose movie got acquired by Netflix, Mike Ezuruonye and others are recognized in Africa.

These talents have not ended, there are many talented youths and small children who have come up with many innovations as being presented in many TV stations. These ones have the hope of being recognized someday. Seeing these young talents makes me believe that my country can get better when the talents are being harnessed.

Which of the things mentioned above do you prefer your country for, over other countries?

I love my country so much because of the hustling and hardworking spirit of her citizens. The way they adopted it as a normal part of life interests me so much and moves me to be eager to work more. With this quality, any Nigerian can survive in every part of the world.

If you eventually leave your country in search of greener pastures, would you be willing to come back because of your response in (3).

Honestly, I do not believe that It is not necessary for me to travel outside my country in pursuit of wealth. But, If I leave my country in search of greener pastures, I will surely come back so that I can encourage other hustlers and help them to stabilize and build up themselves here in Nigeria with the resources I have gathered.

Conclusion


My country is an amazing place to be with and I love it.
I want to invite @beautybb, @focusnow and @samuel20 to be part of this wonderful contest.

Sort:  

Hi @sammylove,

The love you have for your country cannot go unnoticed.I agree with you totally as you have mentioned the hustling spirit of Nigeria,the talents that abounds and the natural resources that we are blessed with.

But, If I leave my country in search of greener pastures, I will surely come back so that I can encourage other hustlers and help them to stabilize

I stand with you on this 👆

Thanks so much for reading through @samuel20

I must say that the hustling spirit is what makes Nigerians exceptional.

 2 years ago 

Nigeria is really blessed with so many natural resources and most are are in extra large quantity, for example the quantity of crude oil is so so much and it has been serving ad Nigeria major source of income for years now.

Nigeria is also blessed with multi-talented individuals who are blessed is so many skills and field and this has been a major source of income for most youth.

Thanks for sharing about your blessed country.

Wishing you success.

You're absolutely right @starrchris

Thanks for going through my entry

 2 years ago 

Great to know part of the history of Nigeria, and the meaning of the colors of its flag.

The hardworking character of its citizens and the talent of each of them, has led them to stand out internationally, placing Nigeria as one of the most attractive African countries.

Successes in the contest!

Thanks @yolvijrm for going through my entry

We have great minds and talent in Nigeria and that position us as one of the resourceful nation in the world. Apart from that we also have good natural resources as you have said.

Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by too @msquaretwins

You said it all @sammylove, Nigeria is really bless enough with plenty mineral resources and very talented people indeed.

Sure @donpearl. Thanks a lot for visiting my post.

 2 years ago 

Hahaha the things you said you love about your country really got me laughing. Indeed I also love the hustling spirit of Nigeria too. You will just know a Nigeria anywhere in the world by the way they hustle. Very hardworking sets of people.

I wish you all best

Their hustling spirit is worth emulating

 2 years ago 

That's right..And am one of them. I no dey rest

No rest in this country at all

 2 years ago 

That's right..And am one of them. I no dey rest

No place like home, i love this Contest so much, for those who think Nigeria is not a good place to be, they should come and see that we can make Nigeria a better place to live for everyone

I stand with you @ijelady.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @Reminiscence01

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

I can see that your country is blessed with natural resources,and also filled with so many talented people plus other activities

Please go to your hashtags and include your country for your post to be more visible

Thanks for the correction Sir, I'll do that right away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76