Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 36: Away from home.

in Steem4Nigerialast month

W5LtFUPm6g7111bbdcuxu3bfUg5qaCq8seb5paCtrrT7zP1extjHoLeKhmhjTFCnkzMBgZcz75ErhE3teHc7p3ra1a5HYxrycqBqRt8YmNivSxvrTJQC1qrgh3Tn2WkPEQ9sGwCCUtvPrHmRsF2uJPAUmnseN.jpeg
Source

Welcome to my participation in this week's accelerator's contest. Its about a home and I feel excited about it because there no place like home.

What is your definition of "Home"

spring-846051_1280.webp
Source

In my own definition, I can define home as a place where I feel comfortable, secured, safe and loved. Home is a place where I be myself without looking back or fear of anyone. A place where I am free to express myself, relaxed anyhow I want and like it.
Some people usually refers to hope as a place where they live but as for me, home is not just the physical place we live or grown up in, I refer to home as a just a physical place where we live and grow up but also as a feeling.

home-2618511_1280.jpg
Source


Have you been away from home, Where exactly was it?

I have always been away from home when I was still leaving with my parents. I have been away from home to stay in the hostel. That was during my secondary school years. I have stayed away from home for months, then returned and stayed at home for a few weeks during the holiday, and once the holiday is over, I do return to the hostel again. That has been happening for six years, and after six years, when I completed my secondary education, I went back home.

girl-768680_1280.jpg
Source


What was your experience like...interesting, boring, maltreated, loved etc...Kindly share with us.

My experience when I was away from home was not an interesting one. I can describe it as boring, maltreated, and nothing close to love.

The first day I stepped into the hostel was on a Sunday when my parents dropped me off.
I was shown where to keep my belongings and where to fetch water from.
Though I was excited about leaving home and staying away from home, the environment kills some of the excitement.

When I was done arranging my things, I went out to fetch water, and after, sometimes, the water in the reservoir was finished.

Not up to an hour, some senior prefect came around to get some water from me and the people that were around.
I asked her to go and fetch water from the tap. Before I could finish telling her to go fetch her water, she gave me a very hot slap.
And told me never to repeat such thing again in my entire life.
She forced me to bring out my jerican, i brought it out with the hope that she will take some and remain some for me, only to noticed that she tool all the water and poor the rest on the floor.
Immediately, I started crying when I noticed that the tap had stopped running.

girl-3421489_1280.jpg
Source

I was maltreated in my stay away from home, and only in my last year, I had a little bit of freedom.

If you're given another opportunity to be away from home to the same place you visited, would you go? Give us reasons.

If I am given opportunity to stay away frkm home and visit the same place I had visited I won't like to visit not even for my children.

My reasons

  1. I was emotionally traumatised
  2. I lost self dignity and self esteem.
  3. I lost my slef confidence because it is a taboo over there to speak for yourself. You are not allowed to speak up for your right. And this affected me for a very long time.
  4. I developed some forms of sickness because of that place.
  5. I learned to retaliate but helped help me not to continue with that spirit.



I am inviting @ruthjoe @ninapenda and @josepha to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @radjasalman
Loading...
 last month 

Home is a place where we don't only live but feel relaxed and comfortable. I can relate your situation, I have been a boarding student too, when I was in high school even in my university I was boarding but the maltreatment of junior students by senior students is something to look into. It was a terrible experience but I'm glad that it still shapes you into the woman you are today. I wish you success in your endeavors

 last month 

People have different opinions about living in the hostel, I personally don't like it and would not want my children to use the facility.

You have a really nice facts about living in the hostel and reasons you can't send your children there. Meanwhile, I'm very sorry you went through such conditions.

Best wishes!

 last month 

I have always been away from home when I was still leaving with my parents. I have been away from home to stay in the hostel. That was during my secondary school years.

Indeed this is a true Description of being far from home, living in the hostel is not that easy because you will miss the love from home.

I was emotionally traumatised
I lost self dignity and self esteem.
I lost my slef confidence because it is a taboo over there to speak for yourself. You are not allowed to speak up for your right. And this affected me for a very long time.

Indeed, only the strong ones can live in hotel, Well am so sorry for all this sorrows and damage which really sound so bad. You really have a well detailed explanation about this topic, I wish you success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73