Connection deception

in GEMS4 years ago

In my travels today I paid particular attention to people; Not the actual people in particular though, more what they were doing. I walked for a couple hours and despite the day being a very nice day, I saw many people with their head in their phones doing whatever it is people do on their device...They'd wander along, oblivious to others and their surroundings, or some sat on benches or the grassed areas with their heads buried in their phones. They totally ignored the real world around them.

I suppose they were busing staying connected with the outside world, or whatever excuse they give for being glued to their screens, however I feel a little dubious about how connected they actually are in reality.

Behind a screen, on the internet, a person can essentially be whomever they choose to be; It's a place where the truth doesn't much come into play and where people can deceive others, and themselves with relative impunity.

“And thus I clothe my naked villainy
With odd old ends stol'n out of holy writ;
And seem a saint, when most I play the devil.”

― William Shakespeare, Richard III

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54