Not reading

in GEMS4 years ago

Having no one read my blog is not unusual; There's so much content to get through here that people don't have the time to get to everything and so some blogs get overlooked. I guess also it's easier to look at a picture of a plate of food and click the upvote button because it looks tasty than it is to read a couple hundred words that might offer some insight.

I don't really mind that people are not reading my blog...I don't write for them anyway; I write for myself, the enjoyment of it, and the fact that it gets me thinking about something other than my real life. It's a release of sorts; One that comes with the chance to expand my knowledge, enjoyment or imagination.

I recall getting quite upset when I'd put a post together, something on a topic close to my heart, a personal thing, and then find out that no one actually read it, or at least never commented at the very least. Not getting that feedback hurt a little. All that effort for nothing, I would think.

It started to annoy me and that's when I began the shift away from the belief I was writing for other people and embraced the fact that I was, indeed, writing for myself.

Along with that epiphany came a more calm demeanour, and far greater enjoyment.

“It is what you read when you don't have to that determines what you will be when you can't help it.” ― Oscar Wilde

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60998.57
ETH 2912.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65