Of shadows, scythes and swords

in GEMS4 years ago

Life lives in my shadow

Ragged as death and abandoned,
you released my trapped breath.

With you came the sunshine, and warm breeze,
every crevice burst forth with fresh life.

I vowed to shield you every step of the way,
scythe in hand, ragged hood up we were ready come what may
hidden in my shadow, who can find you?

Did i forget you in my astonishment?
for you grow paler every step of the way,
even the grass grows pale, a tribute to you we thought.

Alas! it was me all along!
I am death and the shadow of death is the one I cast.

This was #inspired by a song i was listening to i had been listening for months but couldn't make out the lyrics then bam! I heard it the shadow of death is the one i cast
Yeah if you have been following, I know I promised #shortstories to get through the #lockdown, but #poetry just muscles everyone out of the way and has taken control of the pen. I will deliver though, #pengems
#poem #paranormal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73