Storytime: I quit my job

in GEMS4 years ago

This is my story: how I quit my job


IMG_20200214_144854.jpg

I remember when I desperately wanted to work to help in my house and be able to buy the things that I wanted, at those moments I was studying at the university in the morning and I remember that I was so demotivated that I ended up leaving the university for that moment and I started to find a job.

Talking with a friend, I told him about my desire to want to work and he says to me: Hey, I think I can help you, a friend of mine works something that may be related to your career and can help you.

It happened that I managed to send my resume and work in a travel agency, at first I knew absolutely nothing about anything, but I quickly learned everything there was to know from the phonetic alphabet of aviation to handling systems and codes. Everyone was amazed at how quickly I could retain the information, so I stayed on to work permanently.

PicsArt_04-23-11.00.14.jpg

I remember that my boss told me that I can say anything and that I could always give my opinion and give him suggestions on how to improve the place, which I thought was true but later I noticed that it was just rubbish.

IMG-20161210-WA0018.jpg

A year after I was working there, the problems began, especially because I couldn't keep quiet, whenever the boss had small meetings to talk about us, I always had an answer and I suppose that bothered him, but innocently I thought I had a voice and that I could give my opinion, then I understood why everyone was silent when he spoke.

Since I already had a job, my spirits returned and at that time I decided to return to the university but this time at night so that I did not crash with my work, unfortunately the entrance to classes was at 5:00pm and my work day ended just at 5:00 pm. Some classes allowed me to be 30 minutes late because they understood the situation in fact 90% of the students in my class had the same problem with schedule because we all worked, and of course some classes demanded to arrive early and especially on exams. Which caused me some other problem in my work since I asked to leave 30 minutes before to be able to get to class on time.

PicsArt_04-23-11.07.15.jpg

The time passed and after several discussions with my boss I already wanted to leave but I was not going to quit until I had another job because things were a little tight financially for me, just for those months inflation was rising more and more each month what made everything difficult.

PicsArt_04-23-11.08.42.jpg

The boss almost never got used to going to the office, he only let us, employees, do our thing and one or another day he showed up there. It had been a few weeks that he was frequenting the office daily and he was staying to work, one day he gave us the news that the agency was going to close, that he couldn't take it anymore, that he had water up to his neck and couldn't pay us all.

The day he gave us that news, he tells me to go with him to buy coffee and cake for everyone, so I go and while we were going down the stairs he says: What do you think of all this? Do you want to stay with us? And he started saying good things about my job and blabla. And I said, did you ask me to come with you to tell me this? I do not think it is well regarded for others, it is as if you were saying it to me secretly while you throw everyone else out on the street. He said that if that was what it seemed to me and I answered yes as we went back up to the office we were going in an uncomfortable silence.

When we got to the office, I imagine he thought I would tell everyone about his private proposal, and he was right. Well, as soon as we got there, he went on to say that he had proposed me to stay and work because they needed me.

I immediately did not accept but he told me that he kept the proposal there and that I could take some time if I needed it, I delivered my resignation letter which was what he had been agreed with everyone and after a month, he asked me again for my answer and I said yes, leaving me as the person in charge of everything, the bad thing is that now I had to replace the functions of those who were my colleagues.

IMG_20200423_113239.jpg

I think I spent 6 months working alone, until one day the power went out in the entire building and I called the boss (as I said earlier he was not used to frequenting the work area) to notify him of the matter and gave me orders to wait a while and if the power didn't come back I could go. It didn't come back that day so I left.

The next day, it was a Friday, I arrived early and I saw that there was still no power and I asked the security of the building if they knew anything about it and they tell me that apparently the power for today cannot be fixed, I take advantage and call my boss to tell him about the information I received and he says please wait for me, I'm on my way.

After 30 minutes I dial again and he tells me that he is on his way so if please I could wait there, I keep waiting and among all the waiting, I look at the time and it is 10:00 am (my job started from 8:00 am) I call again to tell him that if he is already on the way and he tells me; Please, I need you to come to work from my house and I answered no, and he says, I will be here in a while, here is the whole team with all the systems for you to work from here. I said I wasn't going to work there, I hung up the cell phone and prepared to take the train back to my house without thinking about anything else.

P7030946.JPG

On Monday when I arrive, I did it on time but I noticed that there was still no power and I decided to talk to security and it took me 10 minutes to talk to them. As I said before, the boss never frequents the office, so I didn't even expect him to be there, but when I finish climbing the stairs I see the office open and say: well, this is weird, today the boss came early and when I got closer I noticed discomfort in his face. Since one of the doors was open I told him to open the other door to enter and he says to me in a very abrupt tone: Don't you have your key? And I said yes and he said good, open the door for yourself ... And I was like ...

IMG_20200423_115200.jpg

Once I entered the place, that was terrible!, he told me that I was not committed to the company and he took the keys from me and he also told me that I had arrived 10 minutes late and that today I was going to be discounted of my payment, he told me that the rules must be followed, that I did not want to do my job on Friday and that from now on he expected me to arrive on time and that he would come every day to check that I was arriving on time In addition to the fact that he would be the one to open me to enter because I would no longer have keys to the place and added, even if there was no power I was going to have to come to fulfill all my full schedule even if i had to go see his face there in the office (he said that because I didn't want to go to work that day at his house because the power issue).

What was my reaction?

I was upset, because my work was located in that place and in those offices, so... going to his house to work I considered it a lack of respect in addition to the fact that it looked quite bad and out of place, we crossed some words and he concluded saying if you don't like it quit, for today you can go home because as I said the day will be discounted for arriving 10 minutes late. Immediately I asked him until what time he would be in the office and he answered me late and I told him that I was coming back, please wait for me for a few minutes.

At that moment I left the place super annoyed, almost running to the first cyber cafe I found to make my resignation letter and deliver it, when I return to deliver the letter he was gone, I asked security and they told me that he had gone home, I called him and he did not answer, I had no choice but to go home for that day.

IMG_20200328_175757.jpg

The next day I decided to arrive at 7:30 am, that's right, very early, my surprise is that the boss was already in the office, which was quite strange for him, he opened the door for me and as soon as I entered I gave him my resignation letter and I sent him to eat $hit.

GIF-200423_113023.gif

6 months later his lawyer contacted me to tell me that I should withdraw the money from the settlement for the time I was working there.

What do you think of my reaction? What would you have done?

All the images in this post were made by me, I am the author.

Attention: This is a repost since it was first published on the Hive platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66886.68
ETH 3522.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18