Busy Honey Bees

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Busy Honey Bees at work

bees-001.jpgFull view
 
Yesterday I had a rather boring meeting with one of my customers (yes, sometimes even I as a developer have to leave the house ;)) On my way back to the car I stumbled upon a humming bush with lots of bees which were collecting pollen and nectar.
 
bees-002.jpgFull view
 
I only had my aged Galaxy Note 4 on hand, and so I tried to get some nice pictures of these hard-working little girls with a smartphone.

The pictures turned out very well and since the bees were busy collecting, they didn't mind me taking some closeup pictures of them.
 
bees-003.jpgFull view
 
I'm no bee expert at all, but I believe they are Honey Bees (Apis mellifera) which makes perfect sense since a few hundred meters away is a huge meadow surrounded by a forest. If I remember things right, there are some hives hidden inside the forest.
 
bees-004.jpgFull view

Their time of flight is from March till October, so the chances are high to meet them again on some bushes nearby :D
 

Last but not least some amazing facts about Honey Bees:
  • During a collection trip a single bee visits 50 to 100 flowers
  • A single bee would have to fly 90,000 miles (144,840 km) to gather enough material for one pound of honey. Luckily there are between 20,000 and 80,000 bees working together in one colony.
  • To make one pound of honey Honey bees must collect nectar from two million flowers
  • A honey bee can fly for up to six miles (round about 10 km), and as fast as 15 miles per hour (24 km/h).
  • The bees’ buzz is the sound made by their wings which beat 11,400 times per minute.

 
If you want to know more about bees from people who really know what they're talking about just have a look at:

 
Since the images turned out so well, I had to share them with you ;)
I hope you had a little fun reading this post. Thanks for your time!


Images: © @siiiiichfried
Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION. theunion.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63