SteemFoods X Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 1️⃣ | Prepare Your Most Practical Recipe|My delicious beans buns (Akara and bread)/by madilyn02

in SteemFoods2 years ago (edited)

20220427_155230.jpg

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovRL4NiY8zED4aStKrCJZcicA1arSqQyhVtUy4JTCRBfQw1Rg8XypjrnK5oH9s8SsacmB3fK9yLybC8coWYm2vNs8.jpeg

Hello my dear friends of the steemfood community and all food lovers here. It's a great pleasure for me to be sharing this recipe with you and participating in this grand challenge.

Here I will tell you about the recipe I chose and how to prepare it.

Beans bun recipe and why I chose it

Beans buns is a delicious snack in Nigeria. It is mostly combined with bread to eat. It is also popularly used as breakfast with pap or mixed cereals.
This recipe is one of the easiest vegetarian Nigerian food, it's fluffy, pillowy and also very delicious.

Here in Nigeria we call it Akara and it is almost available everywhere in the country. It is also a favorite for street food lovers.

The Akara is made with peeled beans and a few ingredients to add to the taste. Some people choose to use beans flour to avoid peeling the beans themselves. That way they just mix it with water and make the Akara.

I chose the recipe because it is simple to make. It is also very tasty and delicious and we love to eat it at home.

The following are the little ingredients needed to prepare this delicacy:

Ingredients

IngredientQuantity
Beans2 cups
Onions2 medium size
SaltTo taste
Vegetable oil1 litre
Fresh pepperTo taste
Ginger/garlic/timeric (optional)To taste
IMG_20220427_073813_326.jpgIMG_20220427_065826_295.jpg

The whole ingredients costs approximately 15 steem.
4 cups of beans costs 7 steem, the vegetable oil costs 6 steem while 2 steem can buy the rest if the ingredients.

Procedure

First step, we wash the beans to remove the peels. For this to be easier l, we soak it in water in advance for 10 minutes. This will make it easier to wash. See how to wash it below.

After peeling it, we put the pepper, garlic, timeric and onion to it:

IMG_20220427_084652_767.jpg

After washing it the beans and removing the peels, we take it to the blender to blend with the pepper, ginger, garlic and turmeric. We do not put the onions to it as it may cause with to scatter as it happened to me for the fist time, haha.
Only a little water is needed to blend.

It will look turn into a paste after blending.

IMG_20220427_092715_702.jpg

In order to achieve a fluffy Akara, we need to beat it to incorporate air into it, beating helps to remove lumps from it as well. This is achieved wit a wooden laddle or mortar and pestle. We turn it clockwise to achieve it. See how it is done below:

Remember to add salt to the paste when you want to beat it.

Next step is to start frying. Place the pan on a medium heat and put one litre of oil to heat.
When the oil is heated, we scoop the batter little by little into the oil to deep fry with medium heat. This process will be repeated till the batter is exhausted.

IMG_20220427_100409_109.jpgIMG_20220427_102637_448.jpg

It is fried till it turns golden brown. We will be turning it also to make sure eat all the sides gets done.

We usually eat it with bread as it tastes better together.
See below the end product of our recipe together with the bread.

IMG_20220427_105313_831.jpg

IMG_20220427_105317_975.jpgIMG_20220427_105436_966.jpg

It can also be used for breakfast in the morning for families.

The time taken is not much as it takes approximately 40 minutes to prepare the beans buns.

🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹

Thank you dear friends for letting me share this delicious recipe with you. I hope you can try it someday. All Nigerians can testify to how delicious this delicacy is. It is regarded as a fast that can be found everywhere in the street shops and people can easily buy it and eat. I also thank my aunt @ngoenyi whom I learnt how to prepare this recipe from.

I will like to invite the following friends to participate:
@udyliciouz
@ubongudofot
@goodybest
@eliany
@peachyladiva
@chimeroselam
@favour11
@swaylee

To participate in the challenge
3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovRL4NiY8zED4aStKrCJZcicA1arSqQyhVtUy4JTCRBfQw1Rg8XypjrnK5oH9s8SsacmB3fK9yLybC8coWYm2vNs8.jpeg

Sort:  

I'm really salivating right now. Van I get even a bite?
Your recipe is very delicious added with the onions n bread. Thanks for sharing and being a part of this contest.
I no get special recipe. Thanks for the invite

 2 years ago 

You can have a bite so long as you come to the house:)

Talking about coming to you house. I no sabi your location so I came come to your house

A delicious food you made here
Keep it up🤗

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend, it's indeed a delicious meal:)

Wow.... I love the way you prepare the bean cake and bread. This is my first time I will see onion being put on Àkàrà after frying. You made a great presentation. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

 2 years ago 

Haha, friend the Akara is just for garnishing. It's nice to see that you love the recipe.
Thank you for visiting

Hola @madilyn02! Tu receta es muy práctica, he cocinado algo parecido con lentejas pero no lo he probado con alubias se ve muy delicioso 😋
Gracias por compartir tu receta con nosotros 💖
Éxitos en el Challenge 🌟

 2 years ago 

Neither have I tried it with lentils 😀, but I'm sure it will be delicious especially since you are the one who prepares it 😊.

Thank you for your visit and for wishing me success 🌻

Wow I love the way you prepare your Akara,it's look yummy and attractive especially how you garnish it with onions.

Best of luck in this contest

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend. Im glad that I was able to do it and also to share with here with you.
Thank you for your visit to my post 😊

I just had to resteem the post. I want to come back and make reference when I am making akara. Honestly I didn't know this was how it's being made. See how you made it look so mouth watering and special. I would love to try one of these.

With the way your post is right now, I don't think I stand a chance of beating you but I won't lose hope just yet. Nice post and goodluck in the contest. Expect my entry on Friday

 2 years ago 

Glad you know it now 😊. I hope you can try it out and see how it turns out.

I'm humbled with your posts presentations I've seen, you are a great writer. I expect your entry soon 🏵️

 2 years ago 

Guaooo, se ven fáciles y tan nutritivos estos bollos
Me encanta la practicidad de la receta, muy bien presentada además querida amiga madilyn02
Maravilloso post
Éxitos en el challenge

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend. Yes they are very nice and nutritious. No wonder many chose to eat it here in Nigeria.

Thank you for your nice visit 🌼🌺

This is another interesting recipee from you and it's nice even though i didnt taste it, but i'm prety much sure it taste good.

Thank you for sharing this steps of making Akara...

Its one of the most popular consumed snacks in the morning in many homes.

Perhaps some foreigners can learn from this too. Wish you success in your entry..!!

 2 years ago 

Yes, I hope they learn from this our nice local recipe. It is very delicious and they will agree if they get to taste it.

Thank you for your wishes 😊

 2 years ago 

Que rico! No sabía que eso se podía hacer 🤪 me encantó la presentación, los vídeos, y puedo decirte que me dió hambre v r tu participación.

Eres increíble 😻 e imagino a todos disfrutando de ese rico desayuno, volare a Nigeria a comer akara .

Te deseo mucho éxito cariño .

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much my beautiful friend for your appreciation.
Yes we all enjoyed it at home as e always do. And we will be happy to make them for you if you finally fly and reach here, hahaha

 2 years ago 

Greetings friend, what a good recipe you have presented us with these bean buns, the presentation and decoration of the dish make it look even richer and provoke everyone to eat it. I am pleased to see how you present us with this practical recipe that is also a delicious snack in Nigeria.

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend, it's indeed a practical but delicious recipe that we enjoy so much.
All Nigerians know about it even though we have about 36 states in the country.

Thank you for your visit 🌼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72