Original Poem "The Cardinal"steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Schools3 years ago

Hello everyone! I recently discovered this poetry contest for the Steem Schools Community. I decided to submit one of the poems I've written for today's contest. This poem is entitled The Cardinal, and I wrote it last September.


The Cardinal


The Cardinal sits atop a tree
Where everything is plain to see
And still His song, it stays the same,
But different meanings we proclaim.

Two lovers sit beneath the tree,
And feel as if they're meant to be.
Within the song the boy does hear
The love for her he feels so dear.
But soon thereafter they do part,
And listening with a broken heart
The boy now hears in melody
A sorrowful soliloquy.

The Cardinal knows of love and loss;
He knows of so much more than us.
But still His song, it stays the same-
The different meanings we proclaim.

The man of peace will stop and hear
The values which he thinks are clear,
And so he thinks it right to force
Such values on his neighbor's horse.
The man of war will hear in song
The reason why his foe is wrong,
And so he thinks it right to kill
Because it is another's will.

The Cardinal knows of peace and war
From tree He can see so much more.
And still His song, it stays the same-
Despite the meanings we proclaim.

The meaning in the song produced
By man will always be reduced.

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! I hope you enjoyed it! Please remember that feedback is always appreciated! Have a nice day!

Sort:  

beautiful poetry, I feel sadness in the boy's heart

Thank you!

Nice poem, i realy like it

Thank you very much!

I love this stanza
👇
The boy now hears in melody
A sorrowful soliloquy.

Thanks! I also like that stanza :)

urwel ☺☺

The man of peace will stop and hear
The values which he thinks are clear,
And so he thinks it right to force
Such values on his neighbor's horse.

Excellent work my friend. I really enjoyed the poem. Great meaning in it.

Thank you so much!

You're welcome

very good poetry, I really want to read it again next time

Thank you so much!

like a story of forbidden love, and it is sad because of a love relationship where the two are very close to be separated.

I remembered my own story that had to part with my boyfriend when I was loving him with all my heart

Awwe I'm sorry :(

very good poetry about love, everyone has a name to fall in love, maybe with love can make people change for the better or vice versa, good luck always @cmp2020

Thank you so much! Likewise!

You're welcome

I am a man, and I feel the verses that cut in it... :(

What a poor boy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60