The all new Gridcoin Community using hive!steemCreated with Sketch.

in Gridcoin (GRC)4 years ago (edited)

Since Steem communities are a thing now (on beta.steemit.com that is. link) I went ahead and made one for Gridcoin.

What is gridcoin? Put super simply. It's a cryptocurrency that rewards contributions to BOINC. (Which is a volunteer computer network system for science, You donate processing power and help scientists crunch complex science data)

On a more technical note, It's consensus mechanism is a modified Proof of Stake, The more coins you own, stored in your wallet, the more often you 'stake' (make a block, receive your rewards), The difference from traditional PoS systems is each block is rewarded a flat 10GRC rather than interest.

The Boinc reward comes in on top of the base PoS reward via the complicated and far to long to explain here system.

Anyway you can find out more at the gridcoin website
You'll also find a ton of useful links to various other communities where Gridcoin folk hang out.

That's all from me for now. Be sure you join the community and make a post or two. :D

Sort:  

Thanks for making the community =D
Haven't heard of this feature until now.

Same I literally heard about it an hour ago. Seems like a nice (additional) way to concentrate gridcoin related stuff. #gridcoin tag still does it's thing but communities just feel a whole lot nicer.

is this like tribes on steempeak?

I haven't used steempeak at all so can't really say. At a glace it's similar but steempeak uses a different tech system where as this is build on hivemind which is a core-ish part of the steem blockchain as far as I know.

Right, I've moved away entirely from steemit since I found steempeak ^^' it's just such a better experience

One quick question @shmoogleosukami

Can one post be part of few different communities? Or just one and only one?

And also if I subscribe then to some community and new publication will be posted, then how VISIBLE is this post on my feed? I mean - will I be at least notified?

Just wondering how real visibility will increase.

Yours
Piotr

As far as I can tell a post can only be under 1 community at a time, post do however still benefit from tags like normal.
I don't see any notifications when new posts appear that being said I'm only in 4 communities atm and there have been no new posts yet.
With regard to visibility you can go to my communities to view all the latest posts by trending or new etc. If you subscribe to a lot of communities I can see this getting quite crowded.

Dear @shmoogleosukami

As far as I can tell a post can only be under 1 community at a time, post do however still benefit from tags like normal.

Thank you for your comment and I'm sorry for such a late reply.

From what I've learned users can chose only one community to which post will be "connected". That will make it really difficult for those who would participate in few communities and will have to chose to focus on posting to one of them.

ps.
May I ask you for little favour? I'm not sure if I did ask you about it already or not (hope I'm not repeating myself).

Could you please check out also my recent post if you have few min and share your thoughts on questions related to concept of "introducing steem blockchain to businesses":
https://steemit.com/steemleo/@crypto.piotr/my-very-first-trip-to-switzerland-one-of-the-most-crypto-and-blockchain-friendly-place-on-the-planet-earth

Your feedback is always appreciated ;) And I will upvote most valuable comment with 100-200k SP coming from project.hope account.
Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86