Togedemaru and Mega Aggron debut in Steel-type Test Your Mettle event

in Pokemon GO2 years ago


thumbnail.jpg

Thumbnail image is from https://pokemongolive.com/

Ahoy! It's been a little while since I posted about Pokémon GO. I guess I didn't make any posts about the Psychic Spectacular event. But I did play! Especially trying to catch Ralts. I also did a Mega Alakazam Raid to get Mega Energy to start Mega Evolving one. I suppose I'll do a post about at least the Mega Alakazam sometime.

Today the Steel-type event has started called "Test Your Mettle". The Steel-type Ultra Beasts Kartana and Celesteela already started appearing in Raids a few days ago, ahead of the Steel-type events start. The event will run throughout Wednesday September 21st at 8 pm local time.

With this Steel-type event the Electric- and Steel-type Pokémon Togedemaru has made its debut in Pokémon GO. Its also known as the Roly-Poly Pokémon and has made its first debut in the main series in generation VII. The first games in those series were Sun and Moon.

I've already encountered a few. Here are screenshots of the first one I encountered and caught, including my Togedemaru Pokédex registry.


Togedemaru Registry.fw.png

This Pokémon can't evolve, but I will still try to trade it with friends until I get a Lucky Togedemaru for the Lucky Pokédex.

In this event there is a Catch Challenge as well focused on catching Steel-type Pokémon. It consists of two pages. Here is a screenshot of the first page.


Catch Challenge.fw.png

This first page rewards some Steelix Mega Energy. Niantic's blog post mentioned that this Timed Research will reward Aggron Mega Energy, so that's likely on the 2nd page. It'll probably just be 25 or 50 as well.

I already fought against Mega Aggron today, which made its debut in the game today as well. It's quite a tough one, you shouldn't do it with a really small group. My group was with 5 people and we spent more than 2 minutes to defeat it! 2 minutes and 43 seconds to be exact as you can see in the summary screenshot.


Mega Aggron Defeated.fw.png

With this "slow" speed we only got 175 Aggron Mega Energy. So I advise you to definitely try with a bigger group of people if you want to get 200+ Mega Energy. Luckily though as mentioned before the 2nd page of the Timed Research should give Aggron Mega Energy according to Niantic. Even if it's 25 Mega Energy I'll have exactly enough to Mega Evolve Aggron for the first time. Then I'll just walk with it to get more Mega Energy. Unless I still have to use one of free daily Raid Passes and don't have much time then I could consider doing another Mega Aggron Raid.

One good event bonus is that Nice, Great and Excellent throws increase the Candy you get from catching Pokémon and also increase your chance for XL Candy. I might use the gotcha some days, but other days I'll definitely be aiming for Great or Excellent throws especially on Pokémon like Beldum!

Event Field Research

There are some event Field Research tasks for Pokémon that also spawn in the wild during this event, and for Mega Energy.

  • Catch 5 Pokémon: Magnemite ✨ OR Ferroseed ✨ OR Nosepass ✨
  • Catch 10 Pokémon: Drilbur OR Pineco ✨
  • Catch 15 Pokémon: Beldum ✨
  • Power Up 5 Steel-type Pokémon: Togedemaru
  • Evolve 2 Steel-type Pokémon: 50 Scizor Mega Energy OR 50 Steelix Mega Energy

The Mega Energy quests are for 50 Mega Energy at a time, that's great! I'll try to do a few of those to build up my Scizor and Steelix Mega Energy. Quite surprised to see one for 50 Scizor Mega Energy actually, because it made its debut not that long ago. I'm still trying to get a 100 IV Scyther though before I'd really wanna Mega Evolve a Scizor to be honest, but maybe a Shiny Mega Scizor could be nice as well.

It's great to see Beldum have its own Event Field Research task, because the last event with Beldum in Field Research tasks there were like 5 different possible encounters from that tasks, so you basically had a 1/5 chance for Beldum whenever you got that particular Event Field Research task. Now it has its own, makes it much easier to try looking for those tasks.

What will you be looking for during this event?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67