7 Days Writing Challenge Day 2-My School History

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)
Hello steemians,

Steemalive community has proven to make steemains alive financially. I'm very happy being part of the community, based on "7 days writing challenge contest", yesterday i made know to you guys about my job history. It was a hard way to survival but is not how much life treated me but how much combo i can take from life and still be progressing towards my goal. God has being helping me to achieved my yearly goal. Today, i feel much delightful to write about my school history from preschool to higher institution. Kindly bear with me as i make known to you my journey in the quest of structured knowledge in control environment called schooling.

Education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today. – Malcolm X

There is conceptual problem between schooling and education. Schooling is an environment structured for attainment of knowledge. Schooling involved using fixed curriculum, education is the transmission of cultural value, ethics and conduct of a society to the next generation and the next. It is trans-generational. Education occurred anywhere, anytime and from whoever. This is why interaction with environment is the key to education. You can stop schooling but if u stop education you are as dead as corpse while alive. Why? Because education is life time reality we experience.

Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself. – John Dewey

Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.
– Albert Einstein

Many graduates are broke financially in Nigeria because our society misinterpreted, wrongly applied the concept of education in schooling. our school system failed us on environmental management and integration. Let me tell you guys absent of education in the heart leads to frustration of purpose and life itself. Schooling never touch our heart, it only touch our mind and without the heart creativity becomes blurred.

Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all ― Aristotle

There are so many things running on my head as am writing but will keep them till time would permit me to share them. Below is my schooling history using the 6-3-3-4 system of education in Nigeria.

PRIMARY SCHOOLING (6yrs)

Screenshot_20210826-155715.png

I remembered before i entered kindergarten then aunty mosun will gathered children taught us times table and numeracy, then, my parent lived in bajulaye, shomolu in 1990's before we moved to alapere, ketu in 1990. I was enrolled to K.G 1 in hossana nursery and primary school. I'm brilliant in performance in the class among my classmates. However, change in environment at that formative age affected my cognitive memory because in bajulaye nothing like video game, however, everything was control aunty mosun had daily schedule for children especially during summer, in alapere, i was exposed to games, had friends so the environment impact my memory.

To worsen it, i attend arowosegbe public school, ketu. It was bad, but one day, i was in primary 2, then, my mom was a very busy trader, she would wake up early and come back 10pm. So i have time to interact with environment, make friends, etc. This freedom became my enemies academically, i couldn't write my name. My mom as me what is my name? I reply it. Then, she said to me to write it down. I couldn't she was amazed.!! she enrolled me into private school called Eunid Nursery and primary school at mafowokun street, a street beside our street, memudu. I started from Nursery 2 after assessment imagine from primary 2 to nursery 2. However, i quickly recovered cognitively and became the best. When the tuition fee was to high for my mom. She enrolled me into God's glory international school where i started from primary 1 and i got double promotion twice. First, from primary 1 to 3 and from 3 to 5, due to my brilliant academic performance.

My favorite friends are: Ibrahim, Esther and Paul olofinde.
My favorite teacher:uncle micheal is now a full time pastor.
My favorite school game: football.

JUNIOR SECONDARY (1999-2002)

After my common Entrance i was enrolled to kosofe junior college in ajelogo mile12. Then, the senior school is at orishigun street, iyana school bus stop, ketu. I never drop in performance in class still maintaining the flow then. After my Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE) called junior WAEC in our days. It is an aptitude test to assess students ability to be placed either in science class or commercial class or art class. I did every well in my science subjects then. Now it has being integrated into broad curriculum called Basic science and technology.

My favorite friends:Ekuke emodi, victoria, sakinat, ayomide, lekan, taofik.
My favorite teacher:Mrs ayoola
My favorite school game:football

SENIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL (2002-2005)

1617436887722.jpg

Kosofe senior college shared environs with orishigun college and Apostolic college. We did placement test to determine students ability to be in science. Science then is only one arm, SS1A, i have three closest friend in science, however, due to my academic performance i was popular in the whole of my set. As you guys knew when it comes to science, calculations is one of the major tasks cognitively, because of this during orientation exercise by our physis teacher mrs abidoye she advice us to handle mathematics seriously at home. I obeyed the instruction, get the benefit emotionally, intellectually and psychologically. I did excellently in all my subjects. When we get to SS2A, some repeat the class, i never settle for less in all my dealings, possessed high persistent and tolerance in my perspiration. At the beginning of SS2A third term, i was nominated for the senior prefect position, only me was nominated because i have outstanding interpersonal relations, leadership, punctuality and excellent academic records.

My favorite friends:Akeni promise, salako ifeoluwa, adebayo adeshina, adebayo samuel, kolawole taiwo and kehinde, odekunle oluwakemi, obiora tobina.
My favorite Teachers: Mrs unge Victoria, Mrs Bimbola Abidoye.
My favorite school game: football

TERTIARY INSTITUTION (2010-2015)

t.jpeg

I finished my secondary school 2005, i had delayed in admission into university, i passed my jamb well, engineering cut off was 200 i have above that. But i discovered that my name was not selected. Before i got admitted into Lagos State Polytechnic in 2010 to study chemical engineering. All this delayed made me to know God's purpose for my life and also during this delayed i discover my hidden gifts in me. I finished my National Diploma in 2012 and resume for Higher National Diploma in same course. Due to my fundamental understanding of fact. Engineer Fadayeni nickname me "Basis" and my coursemate started calling me Mr basis. I did my NYSC at Federal Government College, Okposi, Ebonyi state.

My favorite friends: Chiamaka precious, olawale uzoma, falade ezekiel, samuel friday, olukotun abidemi, gbadamosi yunus, afuwajomo samson, elder emeke.
My favorite lecturer:Engr Oso, Engr Odulami, Mr afolabi, Engr Fadayeni
My favorite activities: politics, seminar and scrabble.

POST GRADUATE DIPLOMA

I had Post Graduate Diploma in education with Nigeria Teaching Institute affiliated to university of Ibadan.

My favorite friends: Gbenga Ajumobi, Wunmi, oluyede, oloyede, joseph.

Thanks for reading my post.
Special regards
@mrbasis

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow nice formatting you’ve got there I must say.
But sir ehhh you finished Uni when me I’m still a 3 year fresh secondary school graduate lol…. I respect grace sir lol.

Nice one sir

Life is turn by turn. more grace to you.

 3 years ago 

Thank you sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67895.92
ETH 3743.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64