THE DAIRY GAME: MY PIGGERY UNIT EXPERIENCE: 10%PAYOUT TO @STEEMALIVE CLUB 5050

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20211206_073934_7.jpg

INTRODUCTION

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog. My name is @patience-otis. It's been an awesome experience since I joined this family @steemalive community. It's not up to a year but I feel like I've been here forever. It's more than a blessing knowing you all and I can you all are blessed people.

Season greetings once again. Today I will be sharing with my Industrial training (I.T) experience at the PIGGERY UNIT. I started my I.T 5months ago and I can it has been a whole lot of activities and learning experience.

From one unit to another. The VET CLINIC, ABATTOIR and the PIGGERY UNIT. I will write about the rest unit later. I will just share with us what a PIGGERY UNIT is and it's importance.

A PIGGERY UNIT & SLAUGHTER HOUSE

IMG_20211201_080954_5.jpg

IMG_20211201_080958_2.jpg

A PIGGERY UNIT is meant for rearing pigs on a permanent basis. It should be strong and durable. The floor of a piggery should be hard, unbreakable and rough. Slanted floors to easily allow water, the urine or wastes flow to the drainage or gutters to keep the pains dry.

A SLAUGHTERHOUSE: Is also called abattoir. This is a facility where animals are slaughtered to provide food for humans. Slaughterhouses supply meat, which then becomes the responsibility of a packaging facility.

Slaughterhouses that produce meat that is not intended for human consumption are sometimes referred to as KNACKER'S YARDS or knackeries. This is where animals are slaughtered that are not fit for human consumption or that can no longer work on a farm, such as retired work horses.

ADVANTAGES OF PIG REARING

IMG_20211201_080008_4.jpg

IMG_20211201_080012_5.jpg

When I first joined the PIGGERY UNIT the only I could spot was the disadvantage. I hated pigs so much I wasn't ready to learn anything there to be sincere. Their blood smells so bad but as time goes by I started learning and seeing reasons why pig farming is of importance.

Some importance I can remember are :

• Pigs can convert inedible feeds, forages, certain grain byproducts obtained from mills, meat by products, damaged feeds and garbage into valuable nutritious meat.

• Most of these feeds that are either not edible or not very palatable to human beings pigs can eat and convert it to good meat in their body and we humans can eat them without some effects. Awesome right. But I don't eat pork ooh.

• Pig grows fast and is a prolific breeder.

• Rearing or training 10 to 12 piglets at a time. It is capable of producing about 2litters per year under optimal management conditions

• The carcass of pigs after been cooked is called pork. This is highly valued here in makurdi due to the rate of it's consumption. It's used for different occasions and the meat is quite expensive.

IMG_20211208_080313_1.jpg

•The faeces of pigs is used as a manure to maintain soil fertility

CONCLUSION

I can say with a small investment on building and equipment, proper feeding and sound disease control programme you as a pig farmer can profitably utilize your time and labour in this subsidiary occupation and make alot of money. Well me am in it for the money like said I don't eat pork because pig are disgusting to me.

Thanks once again @steemalive community for all your support I don't take it for granted.

Thanks
Cc;
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@samuel20
@peterabagi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68516.58
ETH 3713.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74