Massive Revolution in Nigeria

in SteemAlive2 years ago

I do not even know where to start from but I will try because I really am emotional and just in complete wonderment.

FB_IMG_1664678058868.jpg
Captured at the event

This time last year, there was a palpable and tangible despondency and hopelessness around whenever I raised the elections topic or anything political with people I met/engaged. I used to voice my fears regularly with my friends on WhatsApp because the apathy, disinterest and helplessness bothered me, endlessly.

But I can boldly state today that this is no longer the case. Many Nigerians are awake and anyone can see, feel and touch this revival of hope and purpose.

Let us come home.

I woke up this morning seriously fearing that the turnout for the Akwa Ibom Obidients Mega March will be average on the whole. Nothing and I mean nothing prepared me for the quality of crowd I met at today’s march.

FB_IMG_1664678050656.jpg

I do not know if my senior colleague- Ubonabasi Peters remembers this incident from our days at James Essien & Co. It was an evening at work and some buses rented for a political event were parked close to our law office. A fight and some squabbles broke out and upon inquiry; we learnt that it was because some monies promised to them on terms of participation at the campaign was not paid or incomplete. That wasn’t shocking as many of us in this environment know this to be a regular thing.

People do not leave their houses or close shop for any political event/ceremony if there is no monetary or party allegiance incentive involved. But since the start of Mr. Peter Obi’s presidential interest, I have seen/witnessed everyday people in this state gather their resources and make contributions towards his aspiration- our aspiration now. This thing blows my mind, and today was no exception.

The organic assemblage of the old, elderly, young, professionals, businesspersons, students, traders and everyday ordinary Nigerians is something money CANNOT buy. And this is the part that makes me envy the person of Peter Obi.

While on the road, my focus wasn’t even much on those of us marching but the people standing outside their homes and businesses- even those we ‘inconvenienced’ with the road delays and detours. These ‘stand-bys’ were hailing and sending their support to us from their vehicles, shops and houses- with so much excitement despite the inconveniences. I was amazed.

People of God! There is a wave of something I cannot name in our land. Whatever the outcome, something has changed in our polity.

FB_IMG_1664678046409.jpg

The road is far and we are just started.
May we have the strength to not just maintain but increase the tempo and participation where it matters- the polls! There is so much work to be done in the next few months. We are capable, let us not forget this.

May our labour not be in vain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91