Music in my country - let me take you on a tour

in SteemAlive2 years ago

Good Day, Amazing Steemians. It’s another amazing week of writing and today we’ll be learning about Music in my country Nigeria.

Music refers to sounds that are pleasant to the ear.

music.jpg

Source

Music in my country

In my country, Music is a part of life. Everyone loves music.
Different types of music are used for different occasions or events like; Wedding Ceremonies, funerals, graduations, parties, and so on.

Aside from that, in my country it is acceptable for people to play music on loudspeakers as long as the nearest person is not complaining, that is why most drivers or tricycle riders play loud music while on the road.

Due to the vast acceptance of music in my country, new songs and albums are released each week, new musicians are emerging, and younger ones are planning and working toward joining the music production industry.

Additionally, there are various kinds of music in my country. There are;

Hip-hop: These ones are being enjoyed by mostly young ones, and the beats are fast and can be danced to.

Highlife: This kind of music is referred to as “Music for old men”. This type of music is mostly enjoyed by fathers and old men because they contain traditional beats and sayings. They come in form of stories, adverts, and quotes especially. They contain vital lessons because the old men that sing them have learned some lessons in life and now sing out of their experiences.

Blues: Blues are cool music. They are meant for relaxation and meditation. This kind of music is mostly enjoyed by mature-minded young ones. Unfortunately, only a few Nigerian Musicians sing in this category.

Top music artists in your country and some of their songs


There are thousands of Musicians in Nigeria but I’ll just list 3 musicians each for each category of music.

Hip-hop:


Davido - Some of his songs are: Fia | Ada | Assurance, etc
Wizkid - Some of his songs are: Mood | Lagos Vibes | Essence, etc
Burna Boy - Some of his songs are: Gbona | On the low | Last Last, etc
Other hip-hop musicians include: Flavour, Fireboy, Rema, Phyno, Ruger, etc

Blues:


Johnny Drille - Some of his songs are: Forever | Bad dancer | Wait for me, etc
Chike - Some of his songs are: Roju | Running to you | Faithful, etc
Adekunle Gold - Some of his songs are: Mercy | Sinner | something different, etc

Highlife:


Onowu Ugonagbo - Some of his songs are: Ike di na Nnewi | Ego Mbute | Ije mu na love, etc
Bright Chimezie - Some of his songs are: Because of English | Life na teacher | Ube Nwanne, etc
Umu Obiligbo - Some of their songs are: Ije awele | Zoba Isi onwe gi | Egwu ndi Nne, etc
Other highlife musicians are: Chinedu Eke, Osadebe, Chijioke Mbanefo, etc

What type of music do you enjoy most? Tell us briefly about your favorite music artist and song.

Despite being a young person, I so much love listening to highlife. Such songs made by mature men direct the thinking in the right way and help someone make good decisions instead of making the same mistakes some people have made in the past.

onowu.jpg

Source

My Favorite musician is Onowu Ugonagbo. He is from Anambra State, Nigeria.
I so much love one of his songs entitled “Ego Mbute”. In this song, he relates an experience of his friend that was in a hurry to make money and later ended up in jail. He also related many instances of people that have fallen into the same trap. The song warns against impatience in the effort to become materially successful in life.

Conclusion


Music is very vital to life as it also affects the mood and mindset of a listener. Therefore, each one should be careful to choose wisely which music he will listen to not because morally debasing music is filled everywhere in the world today.

10% Payout to @steemalive

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Nigeria is seen as the home of music and our musics are really interesting that is one thing why I still love my country. Here in Nigeria we have talented musician who perform well in international and national shows

We have very amazing musicians indeed.
Thanks for stopping by @emmanu

Very much true , worthy of note aside south Africa . Looking at nigeria as number one in terms of music and music industry rate.

 2 years ago 

My dear music uplifts my mood and lightens my spirit. That's the more reason I listen to music when I'm emotionally down. You must be a music lover as your first entry is all about music

I love music.
I see it as my best friend because it keeps me company at all times.
Thanks for stopping by @precious123

 2 years ago 

You're welcome

 2 years ago 

Music makes people forget about there sorrows and dance happily to the songs of some talented Nigeria singers. Music gives Joy

I always say "Music is life"

 2 years ago 

You are very right oooo, if I vex and you play one interesting music for me
I'll be smiling all through and it will help calm me down

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by The Efficient Seven using @steemcurator04. We are supporting quality posts, so keep creating quality posts to get more support. #art theme

SteemexclusiveClubUpvote(%)bot use
Yes#club7540No

Account Used by: @rosz

 2 years ago 

Impressive work here on music. Nigerian music has actually gone very far. Names like Burna boy are now international brands. I do not listen to music much. When I do, I enjoy blues a lot because of its cool way of playing. Onowu is quite popular too among music lovers with that Ego Mbute song. You have nice choices in music.

CriteriaRating
Club75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2.1/2.5
Use of Markdown2.1/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth1.8/2.5
Total8/10

That Ego Mbute song inspires me a lot.
I also love blues.
Thanks for the review @focusnow

Music pleases the soul and it is very good for everyone.
Our Nigerian musicians are really trying, am aways impressed each time I see them collaborating with foreign musicians like Dababy, Justin Bieber, Chris Brown and so on.

Music is a talent that Nigerians have.
It surprises me sometimes seeing them sing alongside foreign musicians

Yes my brother, our musicians have improved a lot💪

...but Nigeria is truly blessed with great talents o...very talented in everything they choose to do. Even in gospel music; people like Mercy Chinwo, Chioma Jesus, Judy Kay, etc. I love them all but these circular artistes rubbish their names in unnecessary scandals. It's just well.

 2 years ago 

yeah mosic I really good and it brings happiness and joy to the listiner also I love your favorite song it also reached many things that one need to know as a human being the manusic has being the best friend keep it up

Most of the Nigerian artists are really good

Here you really poured it all out so amazing indeed . Very vital and informative article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69