After The Boat Show!steemCreated with Sketch.

in Boating4 years ago (edited)

So, What's Next?

I have been to maybe 30 boat shows over the years. Probably another 30 more trade shows as a visitor. Not to mention that I work in the event industry, so I have probably been to another two dozen types of trade show, with maybe 12 or 15 or so of each of those... all tolled, a few hundred or so convention floors, for events. I am not bragging, nor claiming to be the be all and end all, only that, I have developed a system for these shows.
Like everyone, I get all excited and caught up in the moment, so, I tend to grab more than I should and carry it home with me. Lots of brochures I'll never look at, maybe a few too many pens, or candy, or keychains or stress balls, WHATEVER the booth is giving away!

FIRST Thing I do, is to dump all the stuff I collect out, and look it all over! ALL business cards are collected for my desk. I'll review and deal with each as soon as this first once over is finished. Next, at a glance, there are clearly things I'll never look at, and these, Immediately, go into the recycle bin. All the giveaways, pens, keychains, etc, go to another bag, for dealing with later.

This leaves only the paperwork and brochures that truly mean anything to me. Essentials that I really wanted to get out of the show.

BTW, always keep the show guides, these list everyone there, and are good handy references for later use, to find a vendor, or person you talked with.


I like to review all the business cards next, as this gives me a chance to make notes on the back of who they were, and something that will help me remember them, personally.


Anyone I spoke with other than a quick "hi" I'll email that night. I like to include something I spoke with them about. Usually, at trade shows, I mention some particular story, or anecdote, often the same, to all of the sales people or manufacturers reps. I will highlight that in my email, to refresh their memory of who I am and why I am emailing. At the New England Boat Show, I mentioned to each of the 6 or so vendors I was speaking with, about my plan to move from my current center console, to a bigger boat, with a cabin and galley, to allow me to begin learning cruising lifestyles, and weekends away, aboard.


Once each is reminded, I can either drift off, to sleep, or, more likely, spend a few hours online, looking at videos of boats that I was excited about from the show floor. For me, that was the past two weeks!!! A lot of video, and I am only scratching the surface! I also tend to bookmark a bunch of sites in a folder called (boat show name and year). That way, I can easily find them later.


After that first night, I begin to follow up with the other brochures collected. At boat shows, that's anything form accessories, electronics, marine gear, and apparel. Ordering new embroidered hats, or foul weather gear. Looking at and comparing new marine radios. I enjoy spending time now, bookmarking classes for the immediate future, before the new season on the water begins.

Come the time to put the boat in the water, new supplies are already not only ordered but delivered. New Electronics in place. All the little things that will make last minute planning a challenge are taking place now, with snow on the ground and ice in the water. Months of planning are best used, during the winter months and NOT last second, while the spring air is fresh and the sea calls...


That way, my winter is still filled with my thoughts and dreems of the seven seas!

Currently, my favorite choice for the next boat!

IMG_1865.JPG
The Ranger Tug 31 Foot Command Bridge


Sleeps 6, 2 heads, galley, command bridge, diesel inboard, comfortable 1000 mile range, semi displacement hull




Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.




thealliance_468x60.jpg

MonkeeSupporter.png

Small Welcome Wagon.png


Sort:  

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I'd go into a first sailboat and imagine how I'm anchored in French Polinesia, the second boat would take me to South Ameria, the third one I'll probably name Home. It would be a fun day of dreams, but your action is the one that takes you on the dreams and I am grateful to you for inspiration. Thank you and I hope your dreams come true beyond the smooth sailing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love sailing!
In fact, any day on the water is an amazing day! But, my dreems will take me from here on Cape Cod, east coast of the US, North to perhaps the St. Lawrence River and then the Great Lakes of Canada! Once i Learn the ins and outs of navigating, and LiveAboard, I want to move to a much larger boat, one I will call Home, too!

That one? I'd like to set off for a GRAND Adventure!
Off to the coast of Florida, west to the Panama Canal... from there, explore the west coast of the US... and then, it gets fun.

Once I am in the Pacific Northwest, I plan to see Alaska, by small boat (I have done large cruise ships there). After that, my ultimate goal is south, down the west coast of America, to the Galapagos, then to my dreem:

Antarctica.

Cool community! I will be posting in here if winter ever leaves us here in Michigan. When a was a young boy I would always get the pamphlets and read then all cover to cover while soaking in the bath tub. I had not thought of that memory for ages. Good times...

Michigan???

I heard it's ALWAYS winter there!
I am working on my next Boating post, about a trip.
I would love to do the Great Loop, east coast, Great Lakes, Mississippi, Gulf, then, around FLorida, and back home to New England. MAYBE get a chance to say hi if I ever get to do it?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 23 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!DERANGED
8

A member bonus $trendotoken tip and !trendovoter for @bluefinstudios from MAXUV!
Also consider our MAPR fund and MAPXV vote bonds too.
MAP Steem Fintech: growing your STEEM without SP.
Also, please take a look at our new Nonsense Writing Contest post with MAPR prizes.

Congratulations @maxuvv, you successfuly trended the post shared by @bluefinstudios!
@bluefinstudios will receive 4.02976013 TRDO & @maxuvv will get 2.68650675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

You just received DERANGED @bluefinstudios Keep up the great work. Congrats, you have been gifted 1 DerangedCoin. You can redeem 20 of them for an upvote from the deranged.coin account. Redeem your tokens by sending to deranged.coin through Steem Engine with your post URL in the memo field, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 165 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @bluefinstudios, your post successfully recieved 4.02976013 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@maxuvv earned : 2.68650675 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74