You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AMERICAN CHERNOBYL

in FreeSpeech Community4 years ago

I am not sure that there are accurate numbers available to one such as myself : ) I am sure there are people who do have access to such information, but not many.

You must have some "reason" (not just suspicion) to believe something.

Otherwise you're indulging in a naked appeal to ignorance.

Sort:  

You must have some "reason" (not just suspicion) to believe something.

You are right there is a reason. It was a long time ago that I was given some verbal information regarding world population numbers in response to a comment I had made. That led me to doing a little digging into how the official world population numbers are calculated. I found some issues.
More recently I saw I think it was a Ted Talk with the main message being that places which traditionally had high birth rates have largely fallen into the nuclear family pattern of western counties.

Not sure about a naked appeal to ignorance, I am more likely to make an ignorant appeal for nakedness

Television is the most effective form of birth control.

It is true that birth rates are falling in areas that are introduced to electricity and modern forms of entertainment.

However, there are still 7+ billion people on the planet.

And when the music stops, there will be less than 600 million.

Well lets not let that happen

Well, even if we build as many nuclear power plants as possible, without oil, we're not going to have enough fertilizer to feed 7 billion people. And we're not going to have enough precious metals to make battery powered cars and trucks.

Are genuinely that pessimistic?
Or are you provoking a response ?

If we stop eating meat, we might be able to sustain about 1 billion souls.

It's going to be one long bloody game of musical chairs.

I believe we have enough meat!
I certainly will not eat lab grown meat.

I suppose there is no harm in saying that the original information causing me to question the official numbers, came from a Property development conference hosted by some European University. Sorry I cant be more specific. The information came from one of the very few I actually trust. Probably the only one i trust.
Are you based in the UK?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70765.98
ETH 3797.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46