"Steemit Philippines Photography Contest Week # 3: Modern Bayanihan" @jes88

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

Bayanihan (buy-uh-nee-hun) is a Filipino custom derived from the Tagalog word “bayan” for nation, town or community. Bayanihan literally means “being in a bayan” and it refers to a fundamental aspect of Filipino culture: working together as a community to achieve a common goal.
source

IMG_20210714_134925.jpg

I choose bayanihan as an entry for this week's contest. I believe that Bayanihan is part of the culture of the Philippines because it is like a tagline of being a Filipino. The original bayanihan portrays men helping each other to transfer a house to another place. But in modern times, bayanihan still exists in another way with the same goal of helping each other.

About the photo

The photo was taken a little late as of this time. It is when a garbage collector visited our backyard to collect valuable garbage that can be sold to junkshop. It has been always the attitude of my father down to his ancestors helping others who in need without expecting too much in return. The old woman often visits to our backyard but this is the first time I saw her. I took the opportunity to help her also. My father prepared already;

  • 2 kilos rice
  • 2 cans of canned goods
  • noodle packs
  • pair of snacks
    When the @steemitphilippines post a new contest, I am scanning my gallery. When I see this photo, right away, the word bayanihan pop in my thoughts. This woman needs help. She is one of the victim in this pandemic. Filipino as we are, we have this spirit inherited from our ancestors.

Bayanihan before

When I was in grade 1 and 2 (19 years ago) I always heard my teachers saying about the bayanihan spirit. They usually used the picture of the group of men carrying the bahay kubo. As young mind I have, I have thinking to witness something like that. But my teachers explained that during the time houses became concrete and cannot be transferred anymore.

Bayanihan today

I could compare the bayanihan I heard before and the bayanihan I heard today. Because of this pandemic, bayanihan is a famous line not only in politicians but also in the neighborhoods. I may not see men carrying houses, but I see men carrying boxes of donations for those who are needy during this hard times. The goal remains, helping others or helping each other.

Conclusions

I may not witnessed traditional bayanihan nowadays, but I believe the spirit is still living in this present time. It is already part of the culture, of being a Filipino. Wherever our feet brings us, let us continue to be a giver by heart.
Especially this time of crises, wars, earthquakes, famine, terrors, pandemic and any to mention, let us be helpful of what we are capable to give.

Thank you @steemitphilippines for this theme. I hope to read more articles about our culture from the different Filipino steemians.
This has been @jes88, until next time.

MABUHAY PILIPINAS!!!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 
Judge: @loloy2020
CategoryDetails (✅/❌)
Theme: Filipino Culture
Fully Verified
Correct Title and Tags
Used the #steemexclusive tag
At least 300 Words✅/489 Words
1 Photo per Entry
Mentioned 3 Friends
Write-ups RatingGood
Ratings/Score7
 3 years ago 

Good job. Bayanihan is an act of kindness in Filipino culture

 3 years ago 

thank u and mabuhay

 3 years ago 
Criteria for judgingPoints 1-10
1. Relevance to the theme7
2. Creativity8
3. Technique8
4. Over all impact7
5. Quality of story8
6. Total score7.6
 3 years ago 

thank u for this score mr @juichi

 3 years ago 

mabuhay, great entry ate jes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77