Remembering the 500 YOC (My Performance Task in Mathematics) // 10% Reward to @steemitphcurator

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

Hello everyone! It's been a while since I posted my black and white photography entry. I just wanted to share to you my art piece I did in our mathematics performance task for our preliminary project.

Remembering the 500 Years of Christianity

by: @lunajey

image.png

In our Mathematics subject, we tackled about the patterns of nature wherein discussed are: Fibonacci patterns, waves, bubbles, Sierpinski triangles, fractals, and many more. In this discussion as well, we get to discover the importance and connection of mathematics to nature, that mathematics is not just about finding solutions to numbers. So for our performance task, our professor instructed us to make our own geometric or artistic design that gives relevance to the patterns of nature and mathematics. Another objective of this project is to give emphasis to the culture or traditions of the Philippines.

It took me a couple of weeks to get to decide what design I am going to do because I was busy doing my tasks in my other subjects and also, I am still confused how to do it. So around this week (or probably, last week) I was able to decide what to do. The theme of my design is about remembering the 500 years of Christianity, where the Sto. Nino that symbolizes the arrival of Christianity here in the Philippines 500 years ago.

Process of the piece:

image.png

I use Staedler 2H pencil to draw the piece, then outline it with Pilot G-tech pen with 0.5 tip, Sharpie for thicker details.

image.png

I used Sharpie pens to color the Sto. Nino and the frame. I use Faber Castell watercolor pencils to color the basilica and used watercolor brushes to blend the colors. I also used Pebeo watercolor put blue gradient waves to represent the sky.

image.png

So I used Pebeo watercolors to put the waves as background of the pictograph.

The components of the piece includes the following:

1. Sto. Nino de Cebu
This image of the child Jesus is given by the Portuguese explorer, Ferdinand Magellan, to the chief's wife, Juana in 1521. This image symbolizes the arrival of the Christianity in the Philippines.

2. Basilica Menor del Sto. Nino de Cebu
This place is where the original image of the child Jesus or Sto. Nino is kept in a bulletproof chest for safekeeping. This old church is declared by the Pope Paul VI as the "birth and growth of Christianity in the Philippines" in 1965.

3. Blue, Red, White and Yellow Colors
These are the theme colors in celebration for the 500 years of Christianity in the Philippines. These colors are the colors of our national flag as well.

The mathematical patterns in relation to nature includes the following:

1. Fibonacci patterns - These can be found on the yellow designs of the Sto. Nino's clothing and the flowers on some surfaces.
2. Sierpinski triangle - This pattern can be found on the roof of the Basilica as a design.
3. Waves - These can be found as the sky in the pictograph and the background details of the piece with the colors blue, red, yellow, and white.
4. Fractals - These can be found in the clothing of Sto. Nino.

So here is the final piece by yours truly:


image.png

So that's it for my artwork sharing for this blog. I hope you all like it. Thank you for your support!!!
Have a good day everyone!

Best regards,
@lunajey

I also want to give @steemitphcurator 10% rewards for the payout of this entry.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68