You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six Degrees and Hopeless Habits - The Ink Well Fiction Writing Challenge #2 - Bad Habits

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

What an amazing account - she sounds like the old man I love so much in "The Milagro Beanfield War" -


Amarante outlives all his children even though he was sickly his entire life. Every morning he wakes up thanking God for another day.

Sort:  

Sorry @carolkean for missing this at the time.

Funny, but my cousin recommended that book to me when we were gathered together for my grandfather's funeral in 1990, and though I've always meant to, I've never read it.

I think I still have it somewhere. I guess I'll just have to buckle down and read it finally. ;-)

Ohhhh, lucky you, to see the movie and read the book for the first time - then again, for me, the novelty never wears off. Some books/movies can be revisited endlessly and enjoyed every time. The movie "Waking Ned Devine" is another one I never tire of. Love the characters, the message, the hilarity, and the social commentary sneaked in.

image.png

Aaaaagh, I've been on Steemit/Hive so little of late that I missed this as well.

I LOVED Waking Ned Devine, one of the funniest and sweetest films ever made. I've always wanted to go to Ireland, largely because of the vibes of the people as they come across in film, not to mention those that I've met personally.

I always loved the film The Matchmaker, for much the same reason, as well as for the hilarious interplay between Janeane Garofalo and Denis Leary, as well as developing a half-crush on David O'Hara, the bartender who woos her.

But it's the townspeople in The Matchmaker that make the film, including the sister-in-law of the barman, who becomes a good friend to Marcy (Garofalo); and of course, the dueling matchmakers themselves, who are determined to match Marcy up whether she wants it or not.

I have a favorite scene in the film where she is given really bad news via phone, but despite being quite a good actress, she looks for all the world as though she is going to burst out laughing, and I've always had a mental image of Denis Leary (a good friend even before the film) just offstage, doing everything in his power to crack her up. ;-)

Anyway, I've digressed enough, but I did want to acknowledge that I too love Waking Ned Devine, and Irish films in general. Hope you and yours are well and happy.

Take care and be safe!

Thanks for this, and can you believe it took me ten months to find this??
Thanks too for the recommendation: I'll look for The Matchmaker. Those fun-loving Irish, quirky, unapologetic, original. Love 'em.
Denis Leary (a good friend even before the film): a friend of yours,or the actress? Wouldn't surprise me - you've met soooo many people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66884.03
ETH 3079.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77