Thursday's Poetry Challenge - As Free as a Bird

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

The Ink Well Poetry Challenge 1.png

Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash Modified by me Using Photoshop

Hi fellow poets of The Ink Well community. This is @raj808 here to provide a spark of inspiration, lighting the candle of creativity to illuminate our little community through the power of poetry.


As the title implies
this is going to be
a free verse universal
expressive flight,
like a seagull
winging it's way
over estuary strands
of imagination.

Weave webs of imagery
and gossamer strands,
as you soar free
as a bird over lands
letting the pen
take over your hands.

© Rowan Joyce, all rights reserved.


After last week's exercise in form, which produced some exceptional ballads, I wanted to set everyone free with a challenge to write around the theme of freedom.

This challenge is as open ended as I could make it while still providing a prompt.

Free verse by its very definition is an act of freedom, an unleashing of the creative mind unfettered by the strict conventions of form.

My only piece of advice is that you consider that modern free verse poetry does have its own set of techniques that show that it is a poem and not just a paragraph of prose split up into verses.

Modern free verse poetry often replaces end of line rhymes with internal rhymes which happen at different positions within a single line, or even between lines but don't stick to traditional convention of rhyming at the end of the line. For example, look at the words highlighted in bold from a section of my opening poem for this post:

As the title implies
this is going to be
a free verse universal
expressive flight

This is not to say you can't use end of line rhymes if you wish. Remember you're free to weave webs of imagery and gossamer strands, as you soar free as a bird over lands letting the pen take over your hands.

Another widely used technique in free verse is that of alliteration, which when used subtly, can create rhythm and depth of feeling.

Definition of alliteration: the occurrence of the same letter or sound at the beginning of adjacent or closely connected words.

Weave webs of imagery
and gossamer strands,

The above example shows classic alliteration in the repeated W consonant in weave webs and an example of sibilance between the S sounds in gossamer strands.

Definition: Sibilance is a more specific type of alliteration that relies on the repetition of soft consonant sounds in words to create a wooshing or hissing sound.
Source

These are just a few techniques that you could experiment with but above all with this challenge I want to inspire freedom; both as a theme, and in how you express yourself as a poet.

This could even extend to making a voice or video recording as I have experimented with myself in the past. Here is an example of a free verse poem that I wrote earlier this year, set to music and edited into a short film.

But don't feel the need to push yourself to making a video lol. I only show this as an example of the level of freedom of expression I'd love to see from all the poets at The Ink Well.

Literally... feel free in writing your free verse poem.

This challenge will run for seven days until next Thursday when I shall provide another poetic prompt and challenge.

I hope you guys have fun writing around the theme of 'freedom' and I look forward to reading all of your poems.

Thanks for reading.

Hands Banner.png

If you would like to delegate to @theinkwell and help support creative writing on steem you can do so by clicking on any of the following links for the amount you would like to delegate:

50SP100SP250SP500SP1000SP5000SP10000SP50000SP

We also now have a curation trail set up so if you are a SteemAuto user, @theinkwell is now available as a curation trail to follow.

We would like to say a special thank you to those kind souls who have already delegated to help support The Ink Well and creative writing on steem.

@riverflows 500 Steem power delegation, thank you.
@raj808 500 steem power delegation.

Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Thanks for all the tips and definitions. Had no idea about these "guidelines" in poetry and it's nice to learn these things.

$trdo

Congratulations @fenngen, you successfuly trended the post shared by @theinkwell!
@theinkwell will receive 1.89075263 TRDO & @fenngen will get 1.26050175 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

No worries fenngen.

I studied imaginative writing in university.... bleedin useless degree for getting a proper job but I'm very confident in my knowledge of what editors, literary agents and publishing houses look for in both fiction and poetry.

I'm glad that the explanation of techniques for free verse provided some value m8 :)

Hola, here's my entry for this week's contest.

Stay safe out there!

Congratulations @theinkwell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Resteemed and enjoyed your insights. I have so much going on but if I can, I will put my mind and heart to verse.

Excellent. I'm looking forward to reading your poetic creations @wandrnrose7

If you have time of course, I understand how hectic life can get.

Glad you enjoyed the brief explanation of modern poetic devices, I try to keep these prompts fun but educational at the same time. Something that everyone can jump on board with, from the seasoned poet who understands much of what I'm saying, to the newer poet who might gain new insights from these explanations of potential techniques for crafting effective free verse 🙂

Well, I, for one learned something! Loved this post and and will continue to follow them!

I feel that this is a beautiful way to bring some particular things to note to poets. For example I love alliterations if you have noticed well and most of the time rhymes takes away the potency of a poem because we feel the need to fall into places we won't have in the first places. This is beautifully written. I could have written mine but it's Friday already

What a great essay on free verse. You clarified so many stylistic points that can guide writers (including me!).
Resteemed

Congratulations @theinkwell, your post successfully recieved 1.89075263 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@fenngen earned : 1.26050175 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I'm in. 3 days to go. Got my thinking cap on.. or my feathers.

I love your post. I don´t have a good level of English.
Your explanations are very good for me.
Thanks for sharing, @theinkwell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63