STEEM PLANTS CONTEST Week #10 | The Amazing Beauty And Fragrance Of Garlic Vine

in Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA)3 years ago (edited)

I took a picture of these flowers that cascaded the fence in my Aunt's house. She is a Horticulturist that is why I always love to go to her house to see her collection of flowers and other ornamental plants and vegetables (and yes, ask for seedlings and cuttings as well). I remember these flowers when we were still living in the countryside and my Mother had this plant too. I somewhat dislike the smell of these flowers because it has a strong aroma. But when I was a teenager, I appreciated the beauty of these flowers, just forget about the smell..hahaha. It crawls to the side of our kitchen. I still recall that my Father, an Agriculturist says that this plant repels snakes around. I don’t know how true which my Aunt affirmed what my father said to me. Nevertheless, I love these beautiful climbers.

flowers garlic vine2 with feng.jpg

My Aunt told me that Garlic Vine is one of the most stunning ornamental vines that exist. This plant is characterized by the appearance of tricolored blooms at the same time: deep lavender flowers mature to pale lavender with a white throat. When the garlic leaves are crushed, a strong garlic aroma is released. Furthermore, they create monsoon mania with lovely blooms during the drab rainy season.

Garlic Vine or its scientific name is Mansoa alliacea (Synonyms: Bignonia alliacea, Pseudocalymma alliaceum, Adenocalymma alliaceum) of Bignoniaceae (Jacaranda family). Wikipedia

flowers garlic vine with feng.jpg

Not only will these climbers improve color and splendor in the garden, but they will also blur hard lines and soft hard walls, as well as other structures. While naturally spreading, the stems need to be guided in a particular direction or to be supported by binding with props. These also are beautiful path trellis.

flowers garlic vine1 with feng.jpg

Trimming Garlic Vine Flowers:

Flower clusters of Garlic Vine (Mansoa Alliacea) cascading down the front fence. The masses of flowers were truly exceptional. And what's nice about this is that there have been three waves of flowering. My Aunt says to not overly prune because flowering occurs on new growth. When you trim the flower clusters you will be surprised to see that there were new flower buds that were developing in the same nodes where you trimmed off the old flower clusters.

flowers garlic vine with feng.jpg

Medicinal and Culinary Values:

  • My Aunt told me that in South American cultures, the herb is a traditional healer's medicine with a high traditional value. Plant components are analgesic, anti-inflammatory, antifungal, and antipyretic due to the presence of sulfur compounds such as alliin and allyl sulfides, and are used to treat not only colds, influenza, and fever, but also arthritis and rheumatism. Infusions or decoctions of the leaves are also used to treat uterine disorders and epilepsy. It's also used as an ingredient in a number of herbal formula capsules in Brazil and Peru.

  • The leaves are used as a condiment or spice for their garlic flavor and odor.

Other Uses:

  • To cover fences, arbors, or a trellis path and can also be conducted as a shrub through.

Taken using my ViVo Y51
Camera Setting: Portrait setting/ HDR
Location: Philippines


Sort:  

Ang ganda ng mga bulaklak.. 😊😊

Salamat Bunso.

They look as pretty as you, ate!

Thanks, Sissy. You are much more beautiful than me, dear.

Hang ganda ng flower na yan but noong maliit pa ako takot nyan kasi para daw yan pang alay sa mga patay kaya iniiwasan ko.

hahaha..sobra ka naman. alay sa patay sa ganda ng flowers. ayoko nga lang masyado ang amoy

Nice presentation sis. Meron pala nito. Mahagilap nga din photos ng garden ko. :)

Thank you, Sis. Nadiskubre ko lang din yan.

Garlic vine diay na?

Yes, Sister. Guapo siya buhaton ug trellis. kay continues iyang flowers in summer.

Hola. ¡Gracias por participar! esta vid se ve increíble, me gusta mucho el color de las flores. ¡¿Pero tal belleza realmente puede tener el aroma del ajo?! :)))

¡Hola! Gracias por visitarnos y apreciar la belleza de esas flores. Sí, huelen a ajo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73