Achievement 1| Self-Introductory Post in Steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

245180922_1460639497654477_1748004839142013769_n.jpg

Brian Herbert once said that the capacity to learn is a gift; the ability to learn is a skill; the willingness to learn is a choice. For someone like me who isn't gifted with writing, Steemit can be very overwhelming, intimidating and sometimes, disheartening. That is why I am on and off from this platform. However, I am now back on my feet and I CHOOSE TO LEARN and improve my writing and there is no better platform in which I can do it, but here. Also, I'd like to express my heartfelt gratitude to my co-teacher, @kyrie1234 , for helping me how to get back on track. Thank you, ma'am!

So yeah, ladies and friends (drumroll please HAHA), I'd like to officially welcome myself back in Steemit!

To start off, allow me to introduce myself. I am Glenna May J. Raganas, happily married to a responsible, intelligent and good-looking husband (the last time I was active here, I was still single hence my username HAHA).

245359057_249910710290787_5661893562053566769_n.jpg

245327713_615318586167434_3998317456168896734_n.jpg

I am a public school teacher for four years now, and I couldn't imagine myself elsewhere. I never intended to become one, but destiny brought me into where I am today and I must say, it is my calling. Teaching is my calling. It is my calling not because I want to keep talking in front of my students or of the crowd (although I like that lol), but being able to teach my students the reality of life and inspire them that they can overcome any obstacles, they can rise above the ground, they can get out from the dark situation they are in and that, all these, lie on their hands.

I always put myself as an example as I teach them these. I grew up ugly and underprevilaged. I think that's the worst combination you could have. On the other hand, I was aware of those things at a very young age and I think, that was a good thing. Knowing your weaknesses is always a good thing so you know what to work on. And true enough, at the age of six, I knew that I needed to study hard to help my parents because we were just nobody and it's the only thing I could do to help my parents and have a better life and a better me. A better me doesn't mean that I want to change myself completely. A better me is just someone not bullied because of my flat nose, round face, thick lips and big eyes. Although, I want to tell my younger self that she shouldn't be worried about those things because twenty years later, girls would pay to have those thick lips and big eyes. LOL. But seriously, I wish I could. She would be so much happier.

Despite all of those, I still felt blessed that my parents were very supportive with my education and my self-esteem. We may be poor but they didn't mind loaning money just to send me to a good school. My mother didn't mind coming back and forth to the principal's office to submit promissory notes to pay my tuition just so I could take the test. She didn't mind doing all those from high school 'till college. My father, although he had his ways of parenting, made sure that I wasn't ugly and that I should be more confident. He trained me to do public speaking and brought me to different barangay programs so I could do a declamation as an intermission number and somehow, that gave me more confidence. That made me believe in myself. That made me thought that things might not be easy for us but we could do something to become someone other than just ugly and poor. And with constant determination and perseverance to finish my studies and develop myself, I became who I am today.

245236443_208959787973640_8539902538840645490_n.jpg

245243090_6184029985004851_4240431462593157806_n.jpg

And those are the things I share to my students hoping to inspire them, hoping to bring light in their life, hoping to make them realize that it is not their fault that they were born poor (and maybe ugly), but it will be their fault if they stay the same throughout their lives.

For now, that would be all about me. I hope this platform still has a room for more of me to share and to grow.

I want to say thank you to this community for giving me a chance to introduce myself and to @cryptokanon ,
@steemcurator01, @booming01, @steemcurator02, @steemcurator03 and @steemcurator06 for your constant support.

Love,
Glenna

Simple Floral Spring Quote Facebook Cover.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Welcome aboard mam... I am glad that you finally came back and made your comeback post.. Let us bring all Mactan NHS force here. Enjoy!

 3 years ago 

Countless thank you maam marns! 😍

 3 years ago 

Hi, @glennamayjumaoas,

Your post has been supported by @reddileep from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Wow! That is so kind of you! Thank you very much!

 3 years ago 

Welcome back ma'am.

 3 years ago 

Thank you, ma'am! It's good to be back!

 3 years ago 

Keep on steeming ma'am ☺️

Loading...
 3 years ago 

welcome back maam and have a great day

 3 years ago 

Thank you, sir! You too!

welcome maam :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you, sir!

 3 years ago 

Yey bebsy

 3 years ago 

Hello miss
Welcome to steemit 🎉🎉

 3 years ago 

Thnak you po! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98