Squash And Grilled Onion Sauce With Bow Tie Pasta

in OCD4 years ago

I know people that absolutely hate squash or pumpkin. Most of them are men. Is that weird? I personally never had it on the top of my list of things I want to eat or cook with.

After four months in Asia I started buying squash quite often since it was inexpensive, popular, as well as plentiful.

I'm not sure after all that time what they were doing with it. I don't think I ever saw it in a restaurant. I'm guessing curry.

Growing up in Canada we usually consume squash in fall and winter. I never ate much of it except for holiday dinners as a side.It sometimes had apples and cinnamon in it.

Lately here it's been cold accept for the occasional warm day. So today I thought I would do something with a cool weather item.

I wanted pasta today so I would have pumpkin with it. I am sure if the squash haters had this, they wouldn't know they were eating squash.
DSC_8020.jpg
Sauce For Pasta

  • One onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 cups cooked squash
  • 1 cooked carrot
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon tomato paste
  • 2 teaspoon veggie broth
  • 1 tablespoon miso paste
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 cup cashews (I didn't soak them but it would be good for a smoother sauce if you preferred.)

Untitled8.jpg

Blend ingredients adding water until creamy but still thick.

DSC_7988.jpg

I didn't have a big enough blender so I did it in parts, adding it to a pot and stirring the ingredients together instead then simmer on low.

DSC_7994.jpg

I chose bow ties. I have always liked bow ties for some reason.

DSC_8018.jpg
DSC_8016.jpg

For the garnish I chose crushed walnuts parsley and green onions. I feel that walnuts and squash go well together.

DSC_8010.jpg

The bow ties were mixed together in the pot with most of the sauce. The rest of the sauce was put on top along with the garnish.

DSC_8002.jpg

As usual we added some hot sauce along with extra cayenne pepper.

DSC_8030.jpg

It seemed almost like a crime to add the extra hot sauce but we are hopeless spice junkies. We may need an intervention.😏

Sort:  

Would love to have this for lunch now

Thank you I will send you some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83