Vegan Barbecued tofu tacos and corn on the cob with three sauces

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Happy #fruitsandveggiesmonday created by @lenasveganliving and also thanks to @plantstoplanks.

On this day we gather to start the week off by sharing with each other, the wonderful world of fruits, vegetables, and vegan recipes.
DSC_8392.jpg

We are continuing with winter here in Montreal. I am anxious to bury my winter clothes and have more space where we are staying.

We still spend as much time outside as possible, which is why we thought that putting our brunch on the grill would make the day more interesting and spending time in the fenced in backyard is more enjoyable now that we have a small garden dug up.

I have seeds planted indoors. The lettuce is poking up so that's pretty thrilling.

Today we grilled some tofu in order to make tacos with. I marinated it in the same sauce which would be one of our sauce options to put on the tacos and the corn. I marinated and basted in a peanut sauce but no ginger which would have made it taste like an Asian peanut sauce, and I was going for more of a Mexican theme. Not that I recall peanut sauce in Mexico but there are peanuts and lime so why not make a peanut sauce.

Peanut Sauce

  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup tamari
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon veggie broth powder
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic
  • 3 dates or 1 teaspoon sweetener
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder

Blend ingredients together and put half aside. With one half add 1/2 cup water and let tofu sit in it for at least half an hour. I like to do this over night for best results.

DSC_8252.jpg
When I was in Mexico I saw that it was popular to barbecue corn on the street and sell it. I never did get it but I noticed that they had a creamy butter or sour cream and mayo to slather all over it and usually chili or chili sauce on top of that.

corn.jpg

So since I'm vegan, I made a creamy butter and sour cream substitute. I also made a cilantro lime cream for the tacos and/or the corn.

Vegan creamy butter sauce

  • 1/3 cup vegan yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper

Cilantro lime cream

  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon tahini or 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1,2 avocado
    Combine in blender adding water slowly to get a creamy dressing

asauce1.jpg
As usual Marc takes over the grill while I putter around in the yard envisioning how the garden will look when it finally warms up and starts growing.

DSC_8296.jpg

The lady next door came out to her yard and I went over. She had some plant that I didn't recognize so I ask her what it was. She told me it was an herb used for soups. I think she said it was called Lovage. She handed me a sprig and I rubbed it together and inhaled the sweet pungent fragrant smell. It was strange to me but I kind of feel I know it as well. I am a new fan and if I can find it in the garden center I will get some. I waited for her to dig up a bit and give it to me but she said she would give me some at the end of the season I don't know why.

DSC_8324.jpg

While puttering around the backyard I realized that there are some remaining raspberry plants. There were several when the folks moved to the house but for some insane reason, my father in law decided to take all the bushes out. He felt he needed to clean up the yard. When we found out that summer upon a visit, we were disappointed. We were looking forward to picking them since the folks won't eat something that is nor packaged and from Costco. They have gotten worse in their old age.

I will try to nurture these few stems that remain. Hopefully they will make a come back. Of course I'm no expert.
DSC_8309.jpg

Meanwhile back on the grill, there are some golden strips of tofu and corn almost ready to take off.

DSC_8323.jpg

DSC_8328.jpg

DSC_8318.jpg

We were far too cold to eat outside unfortunately so we quickly brought everything inside.

DSC_8285.jpg

DSC_8337.jpg

I started with cilantro cream for my corn tortillas which were warmed in a pan. I bought them from the local grocer.
DSC_8348.jpg

When I spent six months in Mexico I ate so many warm tortillas fresh of the press. Tortillerias are on every corner and they come by half or full kilos. I always got half. Every week I vowed never to eat another tortilla again. After a few days I was back.

DSC_8349.jpg

DSC_8351.jpg

I slathered my first corn with cream, a squirt of lime juice and chili.

DSC_8384.jpg

I think the most common way to eat corn on the cob in North America would be with butter, salt and pepper. But for me after being in mexico and having chili and lime all over everything, it's difficult to take it back a notch. I hardly ever have corn on the cob anyway so when I do, I go all out I am a hopeless sauce and condiments addict.

DSC_8388.jpg

I had a final corn with the peanut sauce. Marc put all of the sauces together. That's what he usually does.

DSC,83451.jpg

DSC_8394.jpg

I know so many people that absolutely hate tofu including vegans. Some don't like the texture but I think they have had it mostly on the soft side. Some hate that there's no flavor. this is why those people should try marinating firm tofu. The flavors will penetrate after a while and if you cook it in a marinade, the flavors should go right through.

DSC_8377.jpg

Believe it or not we ate the whole thing minus a couple of the corn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83