Vegan Quinoa Bean Salad With Extra Spicy Habanero Pepper Tahini Dressing - Some like it Hot!

in OCD4 years ago

DSC_6962.jpg
I have been a little bored lately. Okay a lot bored. I shouldn't complain though because I can still buy food and I have a roof over my head. I'm in cold Canada and I can stay warm for the most part. But there has been something missing.

I was at the local corner grocer the other day and found some temporary stimulation. It was a tray of habanero peppers asking me to take them home. I did.They are known to be some of the hottest peppers in the world. In my experience throughout my life they have been.
DSC_6957.jpg

Marc and I have developed quite a spice tolerance, we put one of these guys in our tahini dressing which would go in our our quinoa salad.
yyy.jpg

Quinoa

  • 2 cup quinoa

  • 3 cups water

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Bring to a boil the water then add quinoa mixing occasionally. Turn to medium low heat and cook until the water is absorbed.

DSC_6958.jpg

Cool off the quinoa after it is cooked and mix in other ingredients.

DSC_6872.jpg

I used 2 cups of mixed beans to mix in along with 1/4 cup chopped cucumber, 1/2 cup chopped carrot, 1/2 mixed colored pepper, cherry tomatoes chopped radish, and chopped green onion.

DSC_6863.jpg
ff.jpg
DSC_6958.jpg
DSC_6964.jpg
When we we started eating the salad, Marc started cutting up one of the peppers to add to the salad. Needless to say, I thought he was a little crazy. I love spice, but to put a raw habanero in something that already had it in was a bit over top, in my opinion.

DSC_7001.jpg

I have to compete with him so I took a bite and to my surprise, it was not over the top. We both wonder now if it was the pepper or if it was us. We waited for it to creep up but it didn't. It had a general spicy kick to it but there was no need to cool off the tongue or anything. I will try another one another time and see what happens.

DSC_6951.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @carolynstahl, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @zayedsakib!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy and/or by delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Delicious salad for real foodies - so yummy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64